2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt



The Samuel Hardy and Tennis Educational Merit Awards Luncheon held during the USTA Annual Meeting.

A man and woman who are U.S. citizens, who exemplify those qualities of personal unselfishness and devotion to the game which have been an inspiration to others.

Persons having made notable contributions in the tennis educational field and having demonstrated leadership skills in such areas as instruction, writing, organization, and promotion of the game of tennis.

Selected by the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Contact below representative for more information.

Charles P. Kehres
Director of Private Events and Special Projects
International Tennis Hall of Fame
194 Bellevue Avenue
Newport, RI 02840
(401) 324-4072 (Telephone)
(401) 324-4055 (Fax)

The award was initially created to honor and recognize services to the development of the game by Harry A. (Cap) Leighton, to whom the first award was made posthumously in 1967.

The International Tennis Hall of Fame annually presents the Tennis Educational Merit Awards for Men and Women to individuals who are citizens or residents of the United States.  The awards are presented to a man and woman who have made notable contributions in the tennis educational field at the national level and have demonstrated leadership and creative skills in such areas as instruction, writing, organization, and promotion of the game of tennis.  The awards are presented at the USTA Annual Meeting.  The selection of recipients is made by a committee appointed by the chairman of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

1968   William C. Lufler Not Awarded
1969   Dennis Van der Meer Not Awarded
1970   Harry James Not Awarded
1971   John Conroy Not Awarded
1972   Harry Fogleman Eve F. Kraft
1973   Bill and Chet Murphy Marion Wood Huey
1974   Victor K. Braden Margaret O. duPont
1975   Clarence Mabry Helen Lewis
1976   Robert Sassano Pat Freebody
1977   Not Awarded Dr. Anne Pittman
1978   Jack Barnaby Peggy Mann
1979   Ed Faulkner Sarah Palfrey Danzig
1980   George Basco Lois Blackburn
1981   Bill Tym Dr. Marigold Edwards
1982   Dick Gould Elaine Mason
1983   Tom Stowe Alice Tym
1984   Sean Sloane Barbara Wynne
1985   Dr. Charles Wolbers Mildred West
1986   Jim Leighton Christine S. Beck
1987   Jim Reffkin Emilie Burrer Foster
1988   Brad Parks Pam Shriver
1989   Not Awarded Not Awarded
1990   Arthur R. Ashe Jr. Jeanie Peabody
1991   Skip Hartman Marceil Whitney
1992   Dr. Jack Groppel & Dr. Jim Loehr Not Awarded
1993   Doug MacCurdy Zina Garrison Jackson
1994   Henry Talbert Kathy Chabot Willette
1995   Peter Burwash Kathy Woods
1996   Ronald B. Woods Donna Floyd Fales
1997   Irving V. Glick, MD Helen Moser Petersen
1998   Dr. James O'Neill Becky Desmond
1999   Nick Bollettieri Anne V. Lebedeff
2000   David A. Benjamin and Howard Brody Lisa Duncan
2001   Frank Brennan and Brian Hainline Patricia S. Van der Meer
2002   Tim Heckler and E. Paul Roetert Not Awarded
2003   Kirk Anderson & Robert W. Greene Jr. Pam Austin
2004   Allen Fox Ann Valentine
2005   Daniel J. Santorum Louise Gengler
2006   David T. Porter & Marc R. Safran Barbara Fackel
2007   Dr. Todd Ellenbecker Sharon Rosenburgh & Kathleen Ann Stroia
2008   Rodney Harmon Not Awarded
2009   Not Awarded Not Awarded
2010   Dale Caldwell & Dan Magill Leslie Allen
2011   Mark Kovacs & Butch Staples Lynn Bender
2012   Edward (Ned) Eames Kathy Rinaldi
2013   Bill Norris Anne Davis
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2015 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39