US Open (annually)
USTA certified chair or line umpire with at least 10 years of service.No recipient is eligible for a second award.
Outstanding contribution to tennis officiating.
Nominations are made to the secretary of the John T. McGovern Umpires Award Committee, which is comprised of past award recipients.  Vote conducted by ballot at meeting during US Open.
July 15: Initial nomination deadline
USTA Officials Department
70 West Red Oak Lane
White Plains, NY 10604
(914) 696-7000
In 1949 John T. (Terry) McGovern presented a beautiful gold-plated trophy for an annual award to that umpire or linesman who contributed most to the cause of tennis officiating during the previous year. In addition to the perpetual trophy, Mr. McGovern contributed gold-plated medalettes to be given annually for the permanent possession of the recipient, as well as silver-plated medalettes to be given on a similar basis to a junior official.  Mr. McGovern was a well-known leader in amateur sports. He was for many years legal advisor to the United States Olympic Committee, a former president of the Cornell University Alumni Association, and president of the Sandlot Baseball Association. Almost from the inception of the USTA Umpire Association, he was a devoted tennis linesman. The Committee of Award consists of all previous recipients of the award.
1949       Donald M. Dickson
1950       Craufurd Kent
1951       Harold A. Lebair
1952       David S. Niles
1953       Louis W. Shaw
1954       Frank J. Tybeskey
1955       Hubert J. Quinn
1956       H. LeVan Richards
1957       Winslow (Mike) Blanchard
1958       Edward Mellor
1959       Harold E. Ammerman
1960       J. Clarence Davies, Jr.
1961       Herbert J. Lewis
1962       Frank Dowling
1963       John G. Kroel
1964       William Macassin
1965       Ernest J. Oberlaender, Jr.
1966       John B. Stahr
1967       S.R. Bumann
1968       John B. Coman
1969       Frank Hammond
1970       E. Brooks Keffer
1971       Titus Sparrow
1972       Col. Richmond Skinner
1973       Sydow Nieman
1974       Douglas B. Stewart
1975       Florence Blanchard
1976       Sam Cox
1977       Bill Ackerman
1978       Harry Maiden
1979       J. Roy Dance
1980       John H. Sternbach
1981       William S. Bigelow
1982      George Duganne
1983      Anita Shukow
1984      Col. Nicholas E. Powel
1985      Dr. Charles F. Beck
1986      Norris Bond
1987      Joseph Beerman
1988      Judy Popkin
1989      Jay Snyder
1990      Zeno Pfau
1991      Richard Kaufman
1992      Peter Kasavage
1993      Fran McDowell
1994      Joan Vormbaum
1995      Phyllis “Woodie” Sublett-Walker
1996      Al Penelton
1997      Steve Ullrich
1998      Bill Barber
1999      Bob Cranor
2000      John Bramlett
2001      Jim Zimmerman
2002      John Wong
2003      Joan Bunny Williams
2004      Jerry Moore
2005      Norman Chryst
2006      Shirley Damiano
2007      Missy Malool
2008      David Littlefield
2009      Lois Huggins
2010      Keith Crossland
2011      Ernie Mosby
2012      Jason "Jake" Garner
2013      Jane Goodman
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39