Awards Luncheon during the USTA Annual Meeting & Conference
To be eligible for the award, a family must first be nominated by their sectional association.
All members of the family must be USTA members and must be active in volunteering in some or all of the following: Serving as a volunteer in fostering tennis in one or more of the age divisions and at least one or all levels of the USTA in such activities as conducting tournaments, developing and/or sustaining junior and adults programs, holding office(s) at any level of the USTA, volunteer coaching, competing in tennis, and enriching the game of tennis in other related activities.
Each section submits its Family of the Year nominee to the USTA Awards Committee in accordance with the instructions forwarded from the USTA Office. The Awards Committee selects the USTA Family of the Year from those sections submitting nominations.
Mid-September: Solicitations sent out to Sections
Late October: Nominations due to Awards Committee
Mid-November: Recipient selected
March/April: Presentation of the award at the USTA Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon
Amy Pettigrew
(914) 697-2248
This award was initiated in 1965 by Martin L. Tressel, President of the USTA in 1965-66, to emphasize the theme that "Tennis Is a Family Game."
This award was initiated in 1965 by Martin L. Tressel, President of the USTA in 1965-66, to emphasize the theme that "Tennis Is a Family Game."  The award is made annually to the family who in recent years has done the most to promote amateur tennis, primarily on a volunteer basis. All members of the family should participate in some way, either as players or by offering their services in running programs or tournaments or in junior development activities.  The committee feels that volunteerism is the backbone of the USTA and should be rewarded when possible.
2013 - The Stingley Family 1988 - The Dutch Vosters Family
2012 - The Osborn Family 1987 - The Herbert Nakamura Family
2011 - The Huether Family 1986 - The Warren Whitlinger Family
2010 - The Illges Family 1985 - The James Buck Family
2009 - The Joe and Cindy Walz Family 1984 - The Eugene S. Jung Family
2008 - The Larry and Susan Kline Family 1983 - The Rolla Anderson Family
2007 - The Don and Becky Cleveland Family 1982 - The Joseph Donnovin Family
2006 - The Roy and Colleen Barth Family 1981 - The Gideon Weber Family
2005 - The George and Jeanne Austin Family 1980 - The Leo Power Family
2004 - The Jon and Shari Vegosen Family 1979 - The John Vest Family
2003 - The Douglas and Delaine Mast Family 1978 - The Herbert B. Gengler Family
2002 - The J.C. and Donna Louderback Family 1977 - Not Awarded
2001 - The Randy and Leslie Jackson Family 1976 - The Francis Wilson Family
2000 - The Lee Hammel Family 1975 - The Joseph Garcia Family
1999 - The Hugh and Paddi Waters Family 1974 - The Forrest A. Hainline Jr. Family
1998 - The Steven K. Champlin Family 1973 - The George Acker Family
1997 - The Thomas C. Balsiger Family 1972 - Not Awarded
1996 - The Brad Parks Family 1971 - The James M. Gray Family
1995 - The Richard B. Riley Family 1970 - Not Awarded
1994 - The David E. Engle Family 1969 - Not Awarded
1993 - The Joe Ed Burnam Family 1968 - The Bundy-Cheney Family
1992 - The Ron Bohrnstedt Family 1967 - The Charles Pasarell Family
1991 - The Thomas Lord Family 1966 - The Will Rompf Family
1990 - The James Farley Family 1965 - The John F. Sullivan Family
1989 - The Russell Ball Family  
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39