Awards Luncheon during the USTA Annual Meeting & Conference.
See criteria.
Person who has been, through his/her efforts, willingness, cooperation, and participation, most deserving of the respect and honor of all seniors, either in play or organizational work for the betterment and furtherance of senior activity.
Applications are sent by the USTA national office to the section offices for distribution.  The selection is made by the Seniors’ Service Award Subcommittee, consisting of the Adult/Senior Competition Committee Members.
October:  Letter sent out with nomination form to Section Executive Directors asking for nominations.
January:  Nominations are due to the USTA Adult/Senior Competition Staff Coordinator, who forwards them to the sub-committee (listed above) for their vote.
End of January:  Nominations are tabulated, and the recipient is selected.
March/April:  Award is presented to the recipient at the Awards Luncheon during the USTA Annual Meeting.
Sarah Lannon
USTA Adult / Senior Competition Committee
70 West Red Oak Lane
White Plains, NY  10604
(914) 872-5629
The first winner, in 1958, was W. Dickson Cunningham of Rahway, NJ, for whom the trophy is named.
A trophy for service to senior tennis is awarded each year to the person the USTA Seniors’ Committee deems most deserving of the respect and honor of all seniors.  It is awarded on the basis of the recipient’s willingness, cooperation, and participation, either in play or organizational work for the betterment and furtherance of senior competition.
1959       William L. Nassau, Jr.
1960       Henry L. Benisch
1961       Dr. Irving Bricker
1962       Monte L. Ganger
1963       Caspar H. Nannes
1964       Joseph Lipshutz
1965       Gardnar Mulloy
1966       J. Clarence Davies, Jr.
1967       C. Alphonso Smith
1968       Col. Nicholas E. Powel
1969       Robert L. Galloway
1970       E. Jefferson Mendel
1971       Emery Neale
1972       Alvin W. Bunis
1973       W.E. Hester, Jr.
1974       Richard C. Sorlien
1975       Jay Freeman
1976       Henry Crawford
1977       Not Awarded
1978       L. Roe Campbell
1979       A.W. “Buck” Archer
1980       John Powless
1981       Leslie J. Fitz Gibbon
1982       A.L. Zerbe
1983       Not Awarded
1984       Jack Blanton, Sr.
1985       Not Awarded
1986       Dr. Alfred Mills
1987       Carol Schneider
1988       Jack Geisel
1989       Not Awarded
1990       Dr. William R. Owen
1991       Mildred Southern
1992       Jane Taylor
1993       Marian Baird
1994       Arthur Rondeau
1995       Margaret L. Newfield
1996       Eleanor Swann
1997       Carol Wood
1998       Nancy Reed
1999       William J. Tully
2000       Ben T. Ball
2001       Ned Mansfield
2002       Art Russo
2003       Patricia Graham
2004       William J. Kellogg
2005       Kathleen Checket
2006       Eddie Williamson
2007       Percy Hughes
2008       Patricia Graham (posthumously)
2009       Kathy Langer
2010       Carolyn A. Nichols
2011       Alice Lee
2012       Irving Levine
2013       Richard Walther
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39