8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt
 

Line-Up Card Errors

Q. Have you ever had a situation in which there was an error on the lineup sheet, but no rules were broken as far as the match? I’m hoping to get some guidance about how to handle this type of situation in league play. We have a league that plays six courts of doubles and requires play to be “best against best” according to roster positions. We had a situation in which a captain filled out her line-up sheet, but she mis-rostered two courts of players. However, the opposing team forfeited a court, so the actual match ended up being best against best, but the line-up sheet wasn’t changed.

A. If the discovery occurs before the first set has been completed players are to go to the correct courts and begin the matches over. If the discovery occurs after the first set is completed, the matches will be completed as started and count as matches played in good faith.

 
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

 
 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39