Falling Down During a Point

Q. During a recent match playing doubles, my partner fell during a point and we continued to play the point out while she was on the ground (obviously not injured). We did go on to win the point. Afterward, we discussed this and we were not sure if this should be called a let. We took the point as none of us knew the ruling for this situation.

A. Falling down or dropping the racket when hitting the ball are situations that can occur on court and are considered a normal part of the game and are not considered a hindrance.

 
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

 
 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39