8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190
Live Scores and Results
 

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt
 

Swings vs. "Whiffs"

Q. In a recent column you stated that "a player is permitted only one swing at the ball." Does that mean that if a player completely whiffs an overhead and the ball never touches the racket (or body) that the player cannot let the ball bounce and then hit the ball back over the net? Also, does that mean that in a doubles match if one player at net swings at the ball and misses, that the player's partner cannot hit the ball back over the net?

A. One swing refers to when you make contact with the ball. In this case, one continuous motion is permitted even if the ball hits the racket more than once. An intentional second swing is not permitted.

A “whiff” does not count as a swing unless it is a serve. If you whiff a serve it is a fault (Rules 19).

During a rally if you swing and miss an overhead or any shot, you can try to retrieve the ball after the permitted one bounce or no bounce and that is legal. Your partner can make an attempt to play the ball if you whiff a shot.







 
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

 
 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39