8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt
 

Serving With Both Hands

Q. During a recent match, a player who was a “switch-server” (could serve right handed or left handed) was changing hands frequently and often during a point. They also had a unique style of standing parallel to the court when serving, making it difficult to determine which hand they were going to use to serve. I realize that the ability to serve well with either hand is an advantage but can someone change during a point, or even a game?

A. Players may serve with either hand and may play any shot with either hand. They may change anytime during a point or game.

Q. Is it permissible to serve with one's right hand and play the remainder of the point with the left hand?

Along the same line, I wonder if it is permissible to switch from right handed to left handed during a point or during a match?

A. A player may switch hands at any time during a point and throughout a match.

 
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

 
 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39