8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt
 

THE FINAL WORD

The Final Word Latest Features

Month:
Year:
 
Results: 17 Record(s) Found.

The Final Word: Calling Lets

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/IW927_300.JPG
Have you ever wondered how many lets can be called in a row, or how many times a ball could skim the net and still be considered a let? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answers. Read More
 

The Final Word: Out Calls and Serves

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/1027_IW_Action510.jpg
Have you ever wondered who can call a ball out or if you can stand behind the alley to serve in singles and doubles? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answers. Read More
 

The Final Word: Dropping Racquets

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/Tucson1012-18.JPG
Has your racquet ever flown out of your hand or your opponent's hand in a match? Is it a hindrance and loss of point? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman explains the answer. Read More
 

Final Word: Calls from outside the court

Action-035
Have you ever had a ball called out but the call actually came from a teammate on an adjacent court and not from your opponent? What happens? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answer.​ Read More
 

The Final Word: Changing Ends and Serve Rotation

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/Action-0055.jpg
USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman answers your questions about rotating serves during a tiebreak and changing ends between sets. Read More
 

Final Word: Colliding Racquets and Bounces

Racquets_colliding
Have you ever wondered if a shot is legal if your opponents' racquets collide after it is hit? What if a ball bounces back off your opponent's racquet after a shot? Find the answers from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman. Read More
 

Final Word: Switching Sides and Talking On Court

Doubles14
Have you ever been confused on switching ends during a tie-break or wondered if it's OK to yell out on court? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answers. Read More
 

Final Word: Serves and Lets

DoublesServing1
Have you ever wondered whether the server or receiver can call a let? What if a ball from another match comes onto your court during a serve? Find the answers from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman.​ Read More
 

The Final Word: Crossing the Net and Hindrances

FinalWord_CrossingNet_52113_389x260
Have you ever had an opponent hit you with his or her racquet on a swing and wondered if that was a hindrance? Is running around the post or jumping over the net to hit a shot that spun backwards legal? Find the answers from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman. Read More
 

The Final Word: Going Through or Over the Net

FinalWord_Net_389x260_51312
Who makes the call if you are not sure whether a ball went over or through the net? Do you lose the point if you touch the net post? Find the official rulings from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman.​ Read More
 
Results: 17 Record(s) Found.
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

 
 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39