8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190
Live Scores and Results
 

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt
 

THE FINAL WORD

The Final Word Latest Features

Month:
Year:
 
Results: 17 Record(s) Found.

The Final Word: Kinds of Hindrances

Doubles_TheFinalWord_389x260
Have you ever wondered what happens if your shot skims a branch on a tree? Are your opponents allowed to yell out while you are returning a shot? Find out the answers from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman. Read More
 

The Final Word: Making Line Calls

FinalWord_linecalls1
Can you call "out" on a ball before it actually touches the ground? What if you say it to your doubles partner to keep him or her from hitting the ball? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answers. Read More
 

The Final Word: Correct Let Calls and Being Hit

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/Action-0026.jpg
USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman answers your questions about appropriate let calls and what happens if you are hit by a ball on the court in this edition of The Final Word. Read More
 

The Final Word: Making Up Rules

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/0922_RM_ScenicsTheme09.JPG
USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman answers your questions about what to do if you suspect your opponent is not playing by an official rule of tennis in this installment of The Final Word. Read More
 

The Final Word: First and Second Serves

GE2_3472
USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman answers your questions about delays interrupting first and second serves and being "quick-served" by your opponent in the latest edition of The Final Word. Read More
 

The Final Word: Playing Doubles

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/1019IW_Action_02.jpg
USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman answers your questions about what happens if a ball hits you behind the baseline or what the final call is if you and your doubles partner disagree on whether a ball was in or out in this edition of The Final Word. Read More
 

The Final Word: Serving out of turn and hindrances

/assets/1/ftp/NewsDimensionThumbnail/1019IW_Action_31.jpg
USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman answers your questions about what to do if someone serves out of turn or a ball on the court is a hindrance to your opponent. Read More
 
Results: 17 Record(s) Found.
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

 
 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39