8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt

THE FINAL WORD

Final_word_3_620_x_174

Have you ever had a question about a call or ruling on-court? Our USTA officials answer your questions and give you the final word.

The Final Word: Double Bounces and Hits

player_to_player_6

Have you ever been called for a double hit when you really hit the ball in a continuous motion? Has your opponent run into the net returning a drop shot? Find the correct rulings in these situations from our USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman.

The Final Word: Playing in Cold Temperatures

laura_hudson_457

With winter bringing cold temperatures to many places, have you wondered if there is a minimum temperature that would cause a match to be postponed? Find the answer from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman.

The Final Word: Tosses and Lets

tucson_1025_132

If you toss the ball to serve and decide it is not a good toss, can you tap the ball with your racquet to catch it or is this a fault? Find the answer from our USTA officials.

The Final Word: Dropping Racquets

player_to_player_5

Has your racquet ever flown out of your hand or your opponent's hand in a match? Is it a hindrance and loss of point? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman explains the answer.

Final Word: Calls from outside the court

style_points

Have you ever had a ball called out but the call actually came from a teammate on an adjacent court and not from your opponent? What happens? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answer.?

Final Word: Colliding Racquets and Bounces

tucson_1026_006

Have you ever wondered if a shot is legal if your opponents' racquets collide after it is hit? What if a ball bounces back off your opponent's racquet after a shot? Find the answers from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman.

Final Word: Switching Sides and Talking On Court

tucson_1026_015

Have you ever been confused on switching ends during a tie-break or wondered if it's OK to yell out on court? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answers.

The Final Word: Crossing the Net and Hindrances

tucson_1026_114

Have you ever had an opponent hit you with his or her racquet on a swing and wondered if that was a hindrance? Is running around the post or jumping over the net to hit a shot that spun backwards legal? Find the answers from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman.

The Final Word: Going Through or Over the Net

tucson1011-19

Who makes the call if you are not sure whether a ball went over or through the net? Do you lose the point if you touch the net post? Find the official rulings from USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman.?

USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39