8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt

NEWS

The Final Word: Kinds of Hindrances

April 29, 2013 02:57 PM
What happens if your shot hits a tree? USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman has the answer.
Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
 
USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman is here to answer your questions. He selects a few submissions at a time and supplies the definitive rulings through a Q&A.

 Have a question of your own? Write to The Final Word!
 
Topic: Do you lose the point for hitting a tree?

Question from Nancy: I was playing a casual doubles game, not a match, on an outdoor court in a park. I hit a ball that then hit a twig on the end of a branch. It was not a high hit but still bounced onto the other side inbounds. Even though our opponent was right there to make the play, he called that it was their point because I'd hit a branch. We thought it should be a do-over, if he didn't want to play the point. What is the ruling?
 
KAUFMAN: If trees overhang the court and the ball hits any part of that tree, then the player who hit that shot loses the point.
 
 
Topic: Yelling Out
 
Question from Beth: I play tennis with a few women who when they hit a short lob, yell out "SHORT" "or "WATCH OUT" after they hit the ball. I thought I had read that once the ball crosses to the opponent's side of the net, you can't yell out. I personally find it distracting when I'm going to hit an overhead to have my opponent yell out. Is there a rule about this?
 
KAUFMAN: Communication between partners in doubles is permitted. It never should be so loud that it may distract the opponents or be mistaken for a line call. The communication should not occur while the opponents are striking the ball.
 
 
 
 

Back

 
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39