On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt


Haggerty assumes USTA Presidency

January 2, 2013 04:12 PM
In January, David A. Haggerty began serving a two-year term as Chairman of the Board, CEO and President of the United States Tennis Association.
In January, David A. Haggerty began serving a two-year term as Chairman, CEO and President of the United States Tennis Association.
Prior to becoming the 51st President of the USTA, Haggerty served the association as First Vice President, (2011-12), Vice President, (2009-10) and Director at Large, (2007-08). And before joining the USTA’s board of directors, Haggerty served for six years on the board of directors of the USTA Middle States Section. He also served a two-year term as president of the Tennis Industry Association from January 2007 to January 2009, and served on the TIA’s Executive Committee for more than 20 years.
Haggerty, 55, of Pennington, N.J., brings an extensive background in the business side of tennis to his role in leading the governing body for the sport in the U.S. The former chairman of Head USA, Haggerty began his career in tennis in 1980, when he was hired by Prince as product manager. In his 14 years there, Haggerty worked his way up to general manager before taking a position at Dunlop as the president of Racquet Sports. He was recruited to Head in 1998, where he served as president of Head/Penn Racquet Sports and Penn Worldwide before becoming Chairman and CEO of Head’s U.S. businesses.
A lifelong player, Haggerty was a junior standout and a three-year captain—as well as the No. 1 singles player—for The George Washington University. He has been inducted into the Athletic Halls of Fame at George Washington, USTA Middle States and Mercer County (N.J.) Tennis, and in 2008 he was named Person of the Year by Racquet Sports Industry magazine.
Rounding out the USTA board for 2013-14 are former touring pros Katrina Adams, as First Vice President; Tommy Ho, as Vice President; and Pat Galbraith, as Secretary-Treasurer. Also serving as Vice President in the new term is Don Tisdel, an accomplished businessman and tennis player who has served on the USTA Board of Directors since 2005.
The 2013-14 Directors at Large are as follows: Andy Andrews, Joan Baker, Raymond Benton, Mark Ein, Todd Martin, Chanda Rubin, Brian Vahaly, Andrew Valdez and Jeff Williams. Jon Vegosen is the Immediate Past President.


Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39