On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt

Wheelchair Tennis

86th Annual National Public Parks Tennis Championships

August 7, 2012 08:37 AM
National Public Parks- Trophy Winners
National Public Parks-More Trophy Winners
National Public Parks- Tournament Action
From July 27 through July 29th, twenty-nine wheelchair tennis players from 6 states competed in Denver as part of the 86th annual National Public Parks Tennis Championships.  This tournament is unique in that it rotates from city to city each year and players of all abilities and divisions are welcome.  A total of 740 players competed in the combined overall tournament of adults, juniors, adaptive and wheelchair players in Denver this year.  The was the 2nd largest overall field in the 86 year history of this prestigious event and the first time it has come to Denver.

Supported and organized by The Colorado Wheelchair Tennis Foundation, this is believed to have been the largest ever wheelchair field in the National Public Parks Tennis Championships' history.  The wheelchair divisions played all of their matches at Gates Tennis Center - one of the most outstanding and most wheelchair accessible public tennis complexes in the country.  The 4 wheelchair divisions were A, B, C and Quad Open in both singles and doubles.

Seth Ritchey of Grand Junction, Colorado prevailed as the singles champion of the A division this year winning each of his matches in strait sets.  Seth is Colorado's top wheelchair tennis player and going into this years tournament Seth was the 4-time defending champion of Denver's Rocky Mountain Wheelchair Open.  In the A division doubles draw, Seth and Kriss Burwell of Whitewater, Colorado teamed up to win the title.

Jess Sporte of Denver won a close final match to capture the B division singles title over Victor Vaughn of Arkansas.  In the B division doubles draw Denver's Justin Obermeyer and Jas Bambur of Winter Park, Colorado prevailed as champions.

Ryan Orr of Grand Junction, Colorado won the C division singles title and he also teamed up Phil Peabody of Denver to capture the C division doubles championship.

Steven Baxter came from Idaho to capture the Quad Open singles championship.  A-Jay Nagel and Melissa McGuire both from Denver were the winners in the Quad Open doubles division.

High level tournament wheelchair tennis will next return to Denver in July of 2013 at The Rocky Mountain Wheelchair Open.


Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39