On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt


2014 ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame inductees announced

March 5, 2014 11:57 AM
Matt Anger was a three-time ITA All-American at USC and went on to reach the round of 16 at Wimbledon and the US Open.

By Sally Milano, USTA.com

Seven men who made a significant impact on men's college tennis have been named as this year's inductees into the ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame. The 2014 class includes Billy Chadwick (Mississippi), Timon Corwin (Kalamazoo) and James Wadley (Oklahoma State) in the coaches' category; Matt Anger (USC), Juan Farrow (Southern Illinois U. - Edwardsville) and Alex Kim (Stanford) in the player category; and Doug Conant (Northwestern) in the contributor category.

The inductees will be honored at the 2014 ITA Men's Collegiate Hall of Fame Enshrinement Banquet, which will be held during the NCAA Division I Men's & Women's Tennis Championships at the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga., on May 21.

Chadwick, the 2009 USPTA National College Coach of the Year and a three-time SEC Coach of the Year (1996, 2004, 2009), coached the Mississippi women's team from 1979 to 1986, and took over the men's program in 1983, notching an overall coaching record of 647-298 (including 540 wins on the men's side). He led the Rebels to the NCAA Team Championship final in 1995, the NCAA Final Four on four times and the Sweet 16 on 16 occasions.

Corwin was an eight-time ITA All-American in singles and doubles as a player at Kalamazoo College, where he led his team to an NCAA Division III team championship and won the singles title his senior season (1986). He later went on to coach at Kalamazoo from 1993 to 2008, leading his teams to a 262-118 (.689) overall record. His teams also finished third or higher in the nation six times and had two national runner-up finishes (1997, 1999). Corwin was the 1997 Men's Division III Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year and the 1999 Men's Division III Midwest Region Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year.

Wadley was the longest-tenured head coach in Oklahoma State athletics history, and in his 40 seasons in Stillwater, his teams made 17 NCAA appearances and won 12 conference titles. Wadley was named the regional coach of the year on 11 occasions and has been honored as the conference coach of the year 13 times.

Anger was a three-time ITA All-American and helped USC finish third in the NCAA Championships in 1983. Following college, he played on the ATP Tour for eight years, winning three titles and achieving a career-high singles ranking of No. 23. Anger has served as the head men's coach at the University of Washington since 1995 and has led UW to the NCAA Championships 18 straight times.

Farrow, an eight-time ITA All-American at Southern Illinois U.-Edwardsville, was a three-time singles national champion, in 1977, 1978 and 1980. In 1979, he reached the NCAA Division I singles semifinals, and he and partner Arjun Fernando defeated Kevin Curren and Steve Denton at the NCAA Championships. Behind Farrow and Fernando, the SIUE men's tennis team captured back-to-back NCAA Division II Men's Tennis Championships, and Farrow was part of a four-time NCAA Team National Champions from 1977-80.
Kim was a two-time ITA All-American while at Stanford, earning those honors in his final two years, and he was honored by the Pac-10 three times during his college career, as he was named the 2000 Pac-10 co-Player of the Year with teammate Geoff Abrams, the 2001 Pac-10 Player of the Year and the 2001 Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year with K.J. Hippensteel. Kim won the NCAA Singles Championship to close out his junior year in 2000, and he was a part of two USTA/ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championships and two NCAA Team Championships in 1998 and 2000. He finished his career with a total of 78 wins, which is seventh in the history of Stanford men's tennis.
Conant was a four-year letterman on the men's tennis team at Northwestern. The former president and CEO of Campbell Soup Company, he was instrumental in helping orchestrate Campbell's title sponsorship of the ITA College Tennis Rankings program and the ITA College Tennis Player of the Year awards. Conant joined the Board of Directors of the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum in 2003 and was a driving force behind the continued growth of the Campbell's Hall of Fame Tennis Championships, an ATP Tour event, and the Hall of Fame Weekend, which features the annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and where the ITA College Tennis Players of the Year are also recognized.

Information from the ITA was used to compile this story.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39