On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt


ITA announces Division I national award winners

August 3, 2009 04:43 PM

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced the national award winners for NCAA Division I tennis Tuesday during a ceremony at The Zone Club/Kyle Field on the campus of Texas A&M University. The winners of the inaugural Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) and the United States Tennis Writers Association (USTWA) Writing Competition were also announced at Wednesday’s award ceremony.

This year's ITA national award winners are:

2009 Men’s Award Winners:
Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year – Ty Tucker, Ohio State
ITA National Assistant Coach of the Year – Kyle Spencer, Baylor
ITA/Farnsworth National Senior Player of the Year – Arnau Brugues, Tulsa
ITA National Rookie of the Year – Bradley Klahn, Stanford
ITA National Player to Watch – Oleksandr Nedovyesov, Oklahoma State
ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship – Blake Strode, Arkansas
ITA/Rafael Osuna Sportsmanship Award – Clancy Shields, Boise State
ITA/John Van Nostrand Memorial Award – Conor Pollock, Texas A&M

2009 Women’s Award Winners:
Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year – Jeff Wallace, Georgia
ITA National Assistant Coach of the Year – (co-winners) Oliver Foreman, Florida State and Damon Coupe, Washington
ITA National Senior Player of the Year – Kelcy Teft, Notre Dame
ITA National Rookie of the Year – Chlesey Gullickson, Georgia
ITA National Player to Watch – Kristy Frilling, Notre Dame
ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship – Dunja Antunovic, DePaul
ITA /Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship – Kerstin Pahl, Western Michigan

In his 10th season at the helm, Tucker has led Ohio State to an amazing 115-6 record over the past four seasons. Tucker captured his fifth career Big Ten Coach of the Year honor, leading the Buckeyes to a 33-1 record, a No. 3 national ranking and a spot in the finals of the NCAA Championship. He has also led OSU to school record 10 straight 20-win seasons.

In 24 seasons, Wallace has claimed two NCAA championships, three ITA National Team Indoor titles and seven SEC crowns. A three-time National Coach of the Year recipient and four-time SEC Coach of the Year, Wallace’s career record is 525-126. With the 2009 NCAA bid, Georgia has appeared in 23 straight NCAA Tournaments and has advanced to the semifinals 10 times.

Spencer has helped coach the Bears to the NCAA semifinals, two NCAA quarterfinals, three Big 12 Conference championships and three Big 12 Tournament championships. In 2007, Spencer received the ITA South Central Region Assistant Coach of the Year award and in 2008, he coached the USTA Summer Collegiate Team.

Throughout Foreman's tenure at Florida State, he has helped guide the team to three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances. Since his arrival, Foreman has helped the team achieve higher national recognition from No. 72 to a top-20 powerhouse.

Coupe is in his second season at Washington, both of which have resulted in NCAA Championship appearances, including this year’s quarterfinal appearance after knocking off conference rival USC. He also works closely with sophomore Venise Chan, a First Team All-Pac-10 selection.

Brugues, the nation's top-ranked singles player, posted a 41-3 singles record this season. He is a four-time ITA All-American and four-time Conference USA Player of the Year winner. The 2006 ITA All-American Champion enters the NCAA Men's Singles Championships as the top seed in the 64-player field. Brugues and doubles partner Philip Stevens make the nation’s sixth-ranked doubles tandem that finished runner-up at the 2008 ITA All-American Championships.

Tefft was named the Big East Player of the Year, leading the Irish to their second consecutive league title. She notched a 27-13 overall record and 17-8 mark in dual matches this season. Kelcy became the first Irish women's tennis player to earn All-Big East honors for four straight years and is ranked first all-time in the Irish record books with 152 doubles wins, 97 doubles dual-match wins, and 260 combined wins.

Klahn went 33-7 overall, 18-4 in dual matches, and 18-6 against nationally ranked opponents and was the Pac-10 Player of the Week on three separate occasions this season (the first freshman in conference history to do so). He advanced to the finals of the ITA Regional championships and was the Pac-10 Singles and Doubles champion as a freshman (only the fourth Stanford player ever to do so in program history).

Gullickson, helped the second-ranked Bulldogs to the 2009 SEC title, the team’s third straight. Gullickson is ranked ninth nationally in singles and sixth in doubles with fellow freshman, Nadja Gilchrist. This is the latest accolade for Gullickson, who already has earned All-SEC honors along with being named the SEC Freshman of the Year.

Nedovyesov has compiled a record of 18-3 and a No. 2 national ranking in singles. He won his second consecutive Big 12 Player of the Year Award and was also a unanimous choice for the All-Big 12 singles and doubles team. In his three years at OSU, Nedovyesov has been a unanimous All-Big 12 performer each year in singles and doubles.

Frilling was named Big East Freshman of the Year with a 26-9 overall record this season. In doubles, Frilling and her partner, Kelcy Tefft, went 34-3 overall this season and 21-2 in dual matches at No. 1 doubles for the Irish. They won the ITA Midwest Regional Doubles crown and were runners-up at the ITA National Indoor Doubles Championship. The pair have stayed in the top three all season.

As the only returning starter from last year’s team, Shields helped lead his squad to this year’s Round of 16 at the NCAA Championships. He is currently ranked No. 24 in the nation and has compiled a record of 27-8 on the season. The 2009 WAC Conference Player of the Year has been named first team All-WAC and WAC Scholar Athlete three times.

Pahl wrapped up an outstanding career this season by being named First Team All-MAC and Academic All-MAC for the third season in a row. She won a school record 66 matches by going 34-8 in singles (tying a school record for singles wins). She finished her career with conference records in singles wins (114) and overall wins (232) and second in doubles wins (118). Kerstin was also named the WMU Senior Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Pollock was named All-Big 12 in singles for the third straight year and also received his second career nod on the All-Big 12 doubles team. He currently ranks 18th all-time with 60 career singles victories and 10th all-time with 63 career doubles victories in the A&M record books. Pollock is a two-time Big 12 Player of the Week selection and three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team scholar.

ITA/USTWA Writing Competition
The winners of the inaugural Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) and the United States Tennis Writers Association (USTWA) Writing Competition were also announced at Wednesday’s award ceremony. The competition consisted of two separate contests, one eligible for Sports Information Directors and one available for students currently enrolled in a college or university. The top three articles chosen in each contest will receive cash prizes, an awards certificate and the opportunity to be featured on www.itatennis.com and www.USTWA.org. In addition, the first place winner of the student writing contest will receive a two-month unpaid internship with the ITA.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39