On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt

Receiving on the Wrong Side

Q. In doubles, if a receiver receives from the wrong side, what is the rule when continuing play?

A. In most cases in tennis, errors are corrected immediately. It is more complicated for errors in tiebreaks, and you can read the entire rule (Rule 27.Correcting Errors) in the Rules of Tennis.

Receiving is different. If the error is discovered during that game, the receiving order remains as altered until the conclusion of that game. The partners then resume the regular order of receiving in their next receiving game. Remember, all previous points stand when this occurs, and partners may alter receiving order at the start of every set. (That would include a match tiebreak played in lieu of a final set.)

Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39