Q. We had an unusual situation in a match at Spanish Hills last weekend. Our Doubles #2 team was serving at 5-3 in the 3rd set when the non-serving partner had his knee go out. He was not really in pain, but he could not continue play so we retired the match at that point.
However, since our injured player was not serving and, as I understand it, a player can be positioned anywhere on the court, we were wondering if his serving partner could have played out that game essentially by himself -- as long as the injured player was somewhere on the court. We discussed it later, and we thought it would have been OK, at least for that one game. The injured player could not have served or returned, no doubt, but for the remainder of our team's service game, he really didn't need to do anything but be on the court, even leaning against the back or side fence. Have you ever heard of anything like that? What do you think. We're just curious.
A. You are correct. The injured player could just stand there and let the partner try to win the game since the injured player did not have to serve or receive.
Q. During a doubles match, my partner and I were leading 3 - 0 and one of our opponents left the court without explanation. When we asked her partner where she was going, she told us that her partner was going to wrap her hand which had been injured prior to the match. Our opponent returned to the court 10 minutes later with a wrapped hand and we resumed play. (When confronted later, she claimed that she had gone to the bathroom) Is this a rules violation?
A. Players do have the right to take a break to go to the bathroom (reasonable time for most amateur events) or take a Medical Time Out for an injury. There are time limits when taking a Medical Time Out. However, it is inappropriate to walk off the court and say nothing or not be truthful. The opponents could make the assumption that one is retiring from the match if no clear explanation is given.