On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt

Line-Up Card Errors

Q. Have you ever had a situation in which there was an error on the lineup sheet, but no rules were broken as far as the match? I’m hoping to get some guidance about how to handle this type of situation in league play. We have a league that plays six courts of doubles and requires play to be “best against best” according to roster positions. We had a situation in which a captain filled out her line-up sheet, but she mis-rostered two courts of players. However, the opposing team forfeited a court, so the actual match ended up being best against best, but the line-up sheet wasn’t changed.

A. If the discovery occurs before the first set has been completed players are to go to the correct courts and begin the matches over. If the discovery occurs after the first set is completed, the matches will be completed as started and count as matches played in good faith.

Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39