On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt

Calling Out the Score

Q. Recently you posted the following question and answer:

During a singles match, my opponent called the score wrong (in my favor) while she was starting her serve. I hit the return into the net. She looked at me like she was expecting me to call the serve long. I did not see it long. I barely saw it at all because I was thinking about the score. I gave her the point and corrected her on the score. Could I have called a let because her score error totally distracted me?

A. Any serious attempt to return any serve forfeits your claim you were not ready. Once you started the point, that point must be completed. You then should discuss the score issue after the point has ended.

Q. This issue should be covered more thoroughly. I know a tournament player who will call the score incorrectly just as he is tossing a second-serve toss. He does this when he's down in a game. When you stop him and correct him before he makes contact, he then demands two serves because you interrupted him during his second-service motion. How should this situation be handled? (So many questions people have about the rules is because the rules are too vague and not definitive enough. A complete rule rewriting is long overdue.)

A. A player should not announce the score during a service motion. Why he would be making any such score announcement on a second serve is beyond me. Deny the request for the first serve in this instance. Such an act during the service motion could be deemed a hindrance to the receiver. Make the server stop from doing that and have him announce the score well before the service motion begins.

Q. If the server calls the wrong score in the game and the receiver disagrees with it, and both players are unable to replay each point in the game, how do determine the real score?

A. In an effort to resolve disputes:

You can play from an agreed score. You can also agree on some points and disagree on others. On the points that you disagree on, you can then replay those points from the side of the court of the disputed points.

For instance, I think that it is 40-15, and you think it is 30-all. We both disagree on who won the first point of the game. We agree on all other points.

We then replay that first point of the game from the deuce side of the court since the first point of the game is played from the deuce side of the court. If I win the disputed point, the score is 40-15, if you win the disputed point, it is 30-all. The next point we play after that would again start from the deuce side of the court since at 40-15 and 30-all, the point is played from the deuce side of the court.

Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39