On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt


The Final Word: Calling Lets

December 12, 2013 12:45 PM
How many lets can be called in a row?

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman is here to answer your questions. He selects a few submissions at a time and supplies the definitive rulings through a Q&A.

Have a question of your own? Write to The Final Word!

Topic: Calling Lets

Today while playing doubles, the server hit the top of the net with her shot, which then hit the top of the net again, and then was good. We called it a let but then wondered if that was correct.  Is there any guidance as to the number of times that a ball can hop along the top of the net and still be considered a let? I know this seems very remote, but it happened.

KAUFMAN: There is no limit to the number of times that a ball may hop on the net before going over the net. It could hop or skim across the entire net, back again, and if the ball then lands in the proper service court it would still be a let.

Question: Is there a limit on lets allowed while serving? I had an athlete told by an official this weekend that after two consecutive lets on a second serve she lost that point. Is this accurate? 

KAUFMAN: What?!?!?! No! Service lets can be limitless.

Click here for The Final Word Archives.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39