On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt


The Final Word: Serving after a delay and racquet dampers

July 24, 2012 10:31 AM
A player can have more than one racquet dampener on his or her racquet.
Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
USTA Director of Officials, Richard Kaufman, is here to answer your questions. He selects a few submissions at a time and supplies the definitive rulings through a Q&A.
Have a question of your own? Write to The Final Word!
Subject: Rain delay between your first and second serve

Question from Greg: At a USTA tournament doubles final my opponents were serving. After a first serve fault rain came so quickly we had to vacate the court. The match was moved to indoor complex and we were given 15 minutes to warm up. Does the server get to retake his first serve?
KAUFMAN: You would get a first serve after any prolonged delay.
Subject: Racquet dampers
Question from Bob: My wife just started playing in USTA events and she plays with two dampeners on her racquet. She was told that you can only with one on your racquet. Is this true?
KAUFMAN: No, this is not true. You may have as many dampeners as you wish on the entire racquet as long as each of them is outside the string around the racquet.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39