On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt


Hingis, Rojer claim MVPs, lead teams to title match

July 25, 2013 11:29 PM
Martina Hingis was named Mylan World TeamTennis Female MVP for the second consecutive season.
Former world No. 1 Martina Hingis of the Washington Kastles and Top 20 doubles specialist Jean-Julien Rojer of the Springfield Lasers were named as the Mylan World TeamTennis MVPs. 
Steve Johnson of the Orange County Breakers and Alisa Kleybanova of the Lasers were named the Mylan WTT Rookies of the Year, while Murphy Jensen of the Kastles was named Mylan WTT Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season.
Also Thursday, the Kastles and the Lasers won their respective conferences at the Mylan WTT Conference Championships presented by GEICO to set the matchup for the King Trophy Sunday, July 28 at 5 p.m. ET. The Lasers defeated the Texas Wild in the Western Conference Championship, while the defending champion Kastles defeated the Boston Lobsters for the Eastern Conference Championship. 
For more information on the Mylan WTT Finals presented by GEICO, visit WTT.com/Finals.
MYLAN WTT FEMALE MVP: Martina Hingis, Washington Kastles
Hingis wins the Female MVP for the second consecutive season, finishing first in women's singles this season with a .700 winning percentage. Hingis teamed with Leander Paes to finish as the top-ranked team in mixed doubles at .595 and .591, respectively. The Kastles remain undefeated when the five-time Grand Slam singles champion headlines their squad. This is the sixth season for Hingis, who is playing her first season with the Kastles. 
"It's great playing Mylan World TeamTennis again this year and I'm flattered to have such great partners," said Hingis. "Being on the best team definitely makes it easier to win MVP."
MYLAN WTT MALE MVP: Jean-Julien Rojer, Springfield Lasers
Rojer finished his second regular season of Mylan WTT with an impressive 66-45 record in men’s doubles and 60-53 in mixed doubles, compiling a .563 winning percentage over the two disciplines. Rojer showed his versatility, playing with partners including former No. 1 Andy Roddick, former Top 20 player and 2013 Mylan WTT Rookie of the Year Alisa Kleybanova, and Rik de Voest. In his debut 2011 season, Rojer was Rookie of the Year as he helped lead the St. Louis Aces to the Western Conference Championships and a run to the Finals. 
"I'm really excited to win MVP," said Rojer. "This is due in large part to my Springfield Lasers teammates. We are a very close group and get along very well. This is even more special because I have had an opportunity to play with everyone on the team this season. I know this is an individual award but in my eyes it is a team award as everyone on this team has been a part of it."
MYLAN WTT MALE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Steve Johnson, Orange County Breakers
Steve Johnson made a successful debut with the Orange County Breakers. Despite the team ultimately placing third in the Western Conference, the young American was the No. 2 men’s singles player in the league, amassing a 62-47 record for the season. He was equally successful in men’s doubles, pairing with doubles specialist Treat Huey to go 64-53. In the middle of the season, Johnson helped lead the Breakers to four consecutive victories. 
"It was an honor to play my first Mylan World TeamTennis season in Orange County with the Breakers, my hometown team, and being named Rookie of the Year is definitely something special," said Johnson.
MYLAN WTT FEMALE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Alisa Kleybanova, Springfield Lasers
The Springfield Lasers finished as the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference, large in part to Mylan WTT Female Rookie of the Year, Alisa Kleybanova. The Russian was a Top 20 stalwart before a Hodgkin’s Lymphoma diagnosis derailed her career for over two years. Now cancer-free, Kleybanova is working on a comeback that has seen her cap a successful return with a stellar Mylan WTT debut season. Playing in all three disciplines (singles, women’s doubles and mixed), Kleybanova finished with a spectacular .573 winning percentage for the 2013, and has only improved as the season has worn on. 
"I am very happy to receive this award," said Kleybanova. "My first season of Mylan World TeamTennis has been amazing! I’m hopeful I can play more seasons in the future as it’s been a lot of fun with my teammates." 
MYLAN WTT COACH OF THE YEAR: Murphy Jensen, Washington Kastles
For the third year in a row, Murphy Jensen was named WTT Coach of the Year. He led the Kastles to their third consecutive Eastern Conference Championship. At the beginning of the season, the Kastles won their 34th consecutive match, breaking the record for consecutive wins held by a U.S. major pro sports team (a record previously held by the 1971-72 LA Lakers). This is Jensen's fifth season coaching the Kastles. He led the franchise to the King Trophy in 2009, 2011 and 2012. 
"It's a dream come true," said Jensen. "I dedicate this to my dad Howard Otto Jensen who passed away April 12. Best coach I've ever known."


Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39