On Court Player Towel

Speed Logo Zone Hat


Peace & Love T-shirt


Serena, Bryans named 2013 ITF World Champions

December 18, 2013 11:36 AM
Serena Williams won 11 titles in 2013 and finished as the year-end No. 1.
Bob and Mike Bryan completed the 'Golden Slam' for the first time in men's doubles history in 2013.
By Erin Bruehl, USTA.com

Serena Williams and Bob and Mike Bryan were the best players in their respective games in 2013, finishing as world No. 1s, with the most titles and Grand Slam titles of any other women’s singles or men’s doubles players for the year.

Now, as the year draws to a close, the honors are still coming for the future Hall of Famers, as Williams was named the 2013 ITF World Champion for the second consecutive year and for the fourth time overall, and Bob and Mike Bryan were named the Men’s Doubles World Champions for the fifth consecutive year and for the 10th time in 11 years.

Rounding out the list of ITF World Champions were Novak Djokovic, who received the men’s singles honor for the third consecutive year, and the Italian world No. 1 duo of Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci, who were named Women’s Doubles World Champions for the second year in a row.

Williams had one of the best years of her career in 2013, going 78-4 with a career-best and WTA Tour-high 11 titles, including Roland Garros and the US Open, to bring her impressive haul of Grand Slam titles to 17. She finished as year-end No. 1 for the first time since 2009 and also captured the year-end WTA Championships.

The Bryans continued to make history this past year, as they became the first men’s doubles team ever to complete the ‘Golden Slam,’ holding all four major titles plus the Olympic title at once. They won the Australian Open, Roland Garros and Wimbledon in 2013 to go with their 2012 US Open and Olympic titles. In all, they won 11 titles together in 2013, which brings their men’s doubles record to 15 majors and 93 overall titles together.

Switzerland’s Belinda Bencic and Alexander Zverev of Germany were named ITF Junior World Champions, while the ITF Wheelchair World Champions are Aniek van Koot of Netherlands and Japan’s Shingo Kunieda, who becomes men’s champion for the fifth time.

The ITF’s selection of its senior World Champions is based on an objective system that considers all results during the year, but gives special weight to the Grand Slam tournaments and two ITF international team competitions, Davis Cup by BNP Paribas and Fed Cup by BNP Paribas.

The ITF World Champions will receive their awards at the ITF World Champions Dinner on June 3 in Paris, during the 2014 French Open.


Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy | AdChoices

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39