Ohio Valley

About Ohio Valley

The Ohio Valley Tennis Association is a non-profit corporation first recognized in 1926 as the Ohio Valley Lawn Tennis Association. Its roots originated in the Southern Ohio Tennis Association in 1920 and is now the governing body of tennis in central and southern Ohio, 16 western West Virginia counties and three northern Kentucky counties bordering the Cincinnati area.


The OVTA is one of 13 districts of the USTA Midwest, which in turn is the governing body of tennis in a section of the United States covering Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois, Ohio, western West Virginia and a tip of northern Kentucky. The USTA Midwest in turn is one of the 17 sections of the United States Tennis Association (USTA), the governing body of tennis in the United States. 


Our mission at the Ohio Valley Tennis Association is to provide opportunities to grow tennis, a game of a lifetime, by promoting USTA and USTA Midwest section programs; by coordinating, supporting and promoting Area Associations tennis activities and by sharing ideas and practices through all Area Associations.   


The OVTA consists of eight areas. The counties (all counties are in Ohio unless otherwise noted) in each area are:


Hamilton, Clermont, Brown, Warren, Butler, Clinton in Ohio and Boone, Kenton, Campbell in Kentucky

Contact Angela Farley Wilson, gctanews@gmail.com


Darke, Miami, Montgomery, Preble

Contact Raya Tabrah, rayasrtc@sbcglobal.net


Clark, Champaign, Greene

Contact Deanna Brockard, deannatennis@gmail.com


Franklin, Delaware, Madison

Contact Linda Guyton, lglefty@att.net

Website: www.gcta.net


South Central
Fairfield, Fayette, Guernsey, Hocking, Licking, Muskingum, Perry, Pickaway, Ross

Contact Courtney Hodson, Courtney.hodson@gmail.com


Calhoun, Roane, Putnam, Kanawha, Lincoln, Boone, Logan, Mingo in West Virginia

Contact David Williams, ltidwms@yahoo.com

Website: www.charlestonareatennis.org


Mid Ohio Valley
Belmont, Monroe, Noble, Morgan, Washington, Athens, Meigs in Ohio and Pleasant, Ritchie, Wirt, Wood, Jackson in West Virginia

Contact Mike Politz, wvpolitz@hotmail.com


Included are the following Ohio counties: Adams, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Scioto and Vinton; and the following West Virginia counties: Cabell, Mason and Wayne

Contact Howard Crews, hcrews@campbellwoods.com

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Ethel Parker was honored with the Mel Bergman Award for her work in tennis. But her work has inspired track champions and NFL athletes, too! Read More
  • Visit the Q&A WITH ESSENCE SMITH page
    February 16, 2024
    ELMS Tennis Club has renewed its sponsorship with Wilson Sporting Goods for the spring! Founder Essence Smith says the club is focused on community. Read More
  • Welcome to the February edition of Net News! Stay up-to-date with the latest information to help juniors succeed on and off the court. Read More