Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.
accesstoken
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
getOrganization
orders
deleteCard
addCard
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
getSection
National

What's the call?

Playing an 'out' ball

December 1, 2016
tennis out ball
ADVERTISEMENT

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: During my doubles match, I served a ball that clearly was long. My partner and I made no attempt to play our opponent’s return because I was anticipating a second serve. Our opponent claimed he won the point because he made a good return. We said that the serve was out, and it should be a second serve. Who was right?


Answer: The opponent was right in claiming he won the point. According to Code 5, players makes calls on their own side of the net, so even if you thought the ball was long, you still need to continue play as your opponent may have been giving you the benefit of the doubt.

ADVERTISEMENT


**


For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

ADVERTISEMENT

Related Articles

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for our Newsletter