Double Bounce Dilemma
July 18, 2018
Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
In the first game, our opponents hit a wide shot that my partner, who is a wheelchair player, hit a good return after the second bounce. Our opponents started to celebrate thinking it was a winner and did not make an attempt to return the ball. They argued that they won the point because the ball bounced twice. What is the bounce rule when able-bodied players play doubles with wheelchair players?
Your opponents just got a lesson about celebrating a victory before the point was over. When playing together, able-bodied players must remember that ball is not out of play until it bounces a third time if it goes to the wheelchair player. ADVERTISEMENT BUT... don’t get any ideas about able-bodied players getting extra bounces. The wheelchair tennis player is the only one allowed two bounces if needed and the able-bodied players must adapt.