This is the membership endpoints html.
Client Id
Client Secret
getcategories
getproducts
accesstoken
catalogId
catalogVersionId
categoryId
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
updateCustomerDetails
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
createOrganization
addFacility
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
setDefaultPayment
getOrganization
orders
organizationSuggestion
facilitySuggestion
deleteCard
resetPassword

WHAT'S THE CALL?

DROPPING YOUR RACQUET

December 29, 2016
<h2>WHAT'S THE CALL?</h2>
<h1>DROPPING YOUR RACQUET</h1>

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Have a question of your own? Write to The Final Word!


Question: During a tournament doubles match, my partner dropped her racquet in the middle of a point. I was able to back her up and get to the next ball while she recovered, picked up her racquet and moved back into position. Could our opponents have called a let and restarted the point or claimed it based on being hindered?

 

Answer: Dropping a racquet is not grounds for a let to be called or for someone to claim a hindrance. Dropping the racquet is considered not to be “sufficiently unusual” for hindrance or let to be called. A similar situation is reference in "Friend at Court" in USTA Comment 22.1: Dropping the racquet is not the same thing as a ball falling out of a pocket or a hat flying off.

 

**

 


For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

ADVERTISEMENT

Related Articles

What's the call?

DISCARDING A SPARE BALL

February 27, 2017
Is it acceptable for a server to toss her second ball to the back of the court?
Read More
What's the call?

COLLIDING TENNIS BALLS

February 23, 2017
Can you call a let if a ball strikes another ball on the court during a point?
Read More
What's the call?

SERVING IN MIXED DOUBLES

February 14, 2017
Who do you serve to on the deciding point in a no-ad mixed doubles match?
Read More
What's the call?

SHOE-GATE

February 8, 2017
What happens if a ball that's going out hits your opponent's shoe? The USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations Committee is here to answer your questions.
Read More
SIGN UP FOR THE USTA NEWSLETTER