WHAT'S THE CALL?
Only one team serving
January 19, 2017
Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
Question: During a doubles match, could one team serve the entire time?
ANSWER: No, the rules of tennis do not allow one team to serve the entire time in a doubles match. Rule 14 explains the order of service in a doubles match — opposing teams rotate service every game.