January 1, 2017
It's a tradition that began in 2000, uniting the very best collegiate club teams in the nation in celebration of the sport for a lifetime: the Tennis On Campus National Championship. Here's a brief look back on the history of this event.

Top Dogs

Auburn University captured the school's first Tennis On Campus National Championship last year in Cary, N.C.
In defeating the hometown University of North Carolina Tarheels, the Tigers became the ninth different school to win the title. Three different schools have lifted the trophy more than once, led by Texas A&M which won five titles in six years between 2002-07. Other multiple winners are UC Berkeley (four times) and UNC (twice).

Tennis on Campus National Champions

Here are the teams that have won national championships in the event's history:
2016 - Auburn
2015 - UC Berkeley
2014 - UC Berkeley
2013 - Georgia
2012 - UC Berkeley
2011 - UCLA
2010 - UC Berkeley
2009 - Duke
2008 - Texas
2007 - Texas A&M
2006 - Texas A&M
2005 - Texas A&M
2004 - Texas A&M
2003 - Florida
2002 - Texas A&M
2001 - North Carolina
2000 - North Carolina

A Field of 64

Club teams earn trips to the Tennis On Campus National Championship with exemplary teamwork both on and off the court. ADVERTISEMENT The previous year's national champion automatically earns a return trip, as well as the winners of the Spring and Fall Invitationals. Also earning direct entry are the Tennis On Campus Team of the Year award winner and the winners of the Sectional Championship events.
Still others punch their ticket by being a positive force within their campus community. Annually, the Tennis On Campus Team of the Year earns a spot in the field regardless of their placement at districts or sectionals.

Viking Voyages

In 17 years of play, only one school has qualified for Tennis On Campus Nationals each and every year: The Vikings of Western Washington University.
Unlike powerhouses such as Duke, Texas and UCLA, Western Washington draws from a far smaller pool of students – just under 13,000 – yet fields a perennially tough squad to compete against the nation's best.



Related Articles