Next: U.S. headed to group stage

Three Davis Cup rookies helped the U.S. Davis Cup team secure a spot in the 2023 Davis Cup Finals. The team will face Croatia, Finland and the Netherland in group stage play in a city to be determine in Croatia, to be held the week of Sept. 11, 2023. 


Austin Krajicek, Denis Kudla and Mackenzie McDonald joined Australian Open semifinalist Tommy Paul and Rajeev Ram in leading the U.S. team to a 4-0 sweep of Uzbekistan in Tashkent in February's qualifying round, earning the team a bertn in the group stage of the 2023 Davis Cup Finals.


Since its establishment in 1900, the Davis Cup has been been won by 15 countries in total. No nation has won more titles than the U.S., which has lifted the trophy 32 times, including at the inaugural event. The U.S. last won the Davis Cup in 2007 when the team of Andy Roddick, James Blake, Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan lifted the trophy with captain Patrick McEnroe.

Robust Special Article Isner John 516x566

In 2012, John Isner defeated world No. 3 Roger Federer in the World Group First Round in Switzerland in Isner’s first live singles match. It was the first time Federer had lost to an American on clay since 1999.

The U.S. has won a record 32 titles since Davis Cup began in 1900.

John McEnroe holds the record for U.S. Davis Cup singles wins (41).

Mike Bryan has more doubles wins (24) than any other American player.

Patrick McEnroe served as the U.S. team captain for a record 10 years.

Since Davis Cup began in 1900, more than 140 players have represented the U.S.

Three sets of brothers (Bryan, McEnroe, Wrenn) played for the U.S.

20070924 Davis Cup Team MM
20000409 John McEnroe Davis Cup MM
20160729 Mike Bryan Davis Cup MM
20070407 Patrick McEnroe Davis Cup MM
20070924 Andy Roddick Davis Cup MM
20160729 Bryan Brothers Davis Cup MM