2020 Community Champions: Jeff Gray wins Seniors' Service Award

December 03, 2020

WATCH: Jim Courier honors Jeff Gray

On Dec. 2, the USTA's Celebrating Community Champions virtual event honored 2020 award-winners in a variety of service-based categories. In the absence of a 2020 USTA Annual Meeting, each honoree received a surprise virtual call from a tennis legend as a thank-you for their contributions to growing the game of tennis.


Jeff Gray of Mobile, Alabama, is this year’s recipient of the USTA Seniors’ Service Award, presented annually for outstanding dedication and contributions to growing tennis at the local level. 


Gray, a former president of USTA Alabama and USTA Southern, also has served as Vice-Chair of the USTA’s Adult Senior Competition Committee, and has received numerous awards for his outstanding work and dedication to the game. 


An inductee in several Halls of Fame, including the USTA Alabama Hall of Fame and USTA Southern Hall of Fame, Gray also has been named Alabama Tennis Professional of the Year, and USPTA Southern Tennis Professional of the Year. 


He has several times earned the No. 1 state ranking in Alabama, and represented USTA Alabama as a member and Captain of the Alabama Senior Cup Team. 


“Jeff’s dedication to senior tennis competition in both his play and organizational work makes him the ideal candidate for this recognition, said Craig Morris, USTA Chief Executive, Community Tennis. “We thank Jeff for the outstanding work he has done and continues doing to promote the growth of tennis.” 


The Seniors’ Service Award was established in 1958 to recognize and honor a person for their service to senior tennis. It is awarded annually on the basis of the recipient’s willingness, cooperation and participation—either in play or organizational work—to work for the betterment of senior tennis competition.

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • The Lisa and Douglas Goldman Tennis Center in San Francisco was named the 2023 Featured Facility of the Year, the highest honor bestowed by the USTA on a tennis facility. Read More
  • Emerey Gross
    Junior awards
    August 08, 2023
    Emerey Gross and Dylan Tsoi were named winners of the 2023 Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award. Esha Velaga and Zander Barber were tabbed for the 2023 USTA National Junior Scholar Athlete Award. Read More
  • March 5, 2023; Tempe, AZ, USA;  USTA Barbara Williams Service Award - Pamela Sloan
    2023 AMC awards
    March 06, 2023
    The USTA announced its 2023 national awards recipients honored for their dedication and contributions to growing the sport of tennis both locally and nationwide at the 2023 Annual Meeting and Conference in Phoenix. Read More