New England


December 7, 2017

Media Contact: James Maimonis

Communications & Engagement Coordinator

508-366-3450 ext. 112




MARLBOROUGH, MA- USTA (United States Tennis Association) New England is pleased to announce its 2017 award winners, who will be recognized in a ceremony on Saturday, January 20, 2018. Thirty-one award winners and 47 longtime volunteers will be celebrated for their tremendous dedication and contribution to tennis in New England.


“Our award winners exemplify the very best of tennis in New England,” said Scott Steinberg, USTA New England President and CEO. “Their remarkable efforts on and off the court have been instrumental in continuing to grow the game. We are delighted to have this opportunity to recognize and celebrate their accomplishments.”



The winners will be honored at 11:30 a.m. at a luncheon ceremony at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marlborough, MA.  


The ceremony will feature guest emcee Harvey Leonard, chief meteorologist for WCVB-TV Channel 5 in Boston. Leonard forecasts for NewsCenter 5's early evening and late newscasts as well as the station’s website, and he has worked as a meteorologist in New England for over 40 years. He is an avid tennis fan and enjoys playing in his free time.


A special addition to the ceremony this year is Tennis Industry Magazine presenting its national ‘Champions of Tennis’ awards. TI Magazine Editor Peter Francesconi will recognize award winners from New England at the ceremony. The list of winners will be released in the magazine’s January edition.  


The 2017 New England award winners are as follows:


Connecticut Volunteer of the Year: Herb Mendelsohn (Woodbridge, CT)

Eastern Massachusetts Volunteer of the Year: Thomas Dodd (Attleboro, MA)

Maine Volunteer of the Year: Norm Archer (Kennebunk, ME)

New Hampshire Volunteer of the Year: Bruce Leibig (Goffstown, NH)

Rhode Island Volunteer of the Year: Charles Dress (Warwick, RI)

Vermont Volunteer of the Year: Laury Shea (Jericho, VT)

Western Massachusetts Volunteer of the Year: Allen Dunbar (Agawam, MA)

Boys’ 14 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Sebastien Lowy (Madison, CT)

Girls’ 14 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Jennifer Riester (Lynnfield, MA)

Boys’ 16 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Derek Shen (Chestnut Hill, MA)

Boys’ 18 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Jason Boucher (Bedford, NH)

Girls’ 18 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Maggie Dorr (Concord, MA)

William Freedman Award: Toni Wiley (Dorchester, MA)

Junior Team Tennis Organizer of the Year: Kendra Becker (Norwalk, CT)

Community Tennis Association of the Year: Granite State Kids (Bedford, NH)

NJTL Chapter of the Year: Moving on Up (Springfield, MA)

Edwin Goodman Family of the Year: Ramirez Luna Family (Dedham, MA)

Organization of the Year: Midcoast Recreation Center (Rockport, ME)

Adult Female Sportsmanship Award: Maria Park (Weston, MA)

Adult Male Sportsmanship Award: Chris Terpko (Shrewsbury, MA)

USTA League Coordinator of the Year: Charlie Michaelman (Harrisville, RI)

USTA League Female Captain of the Year: Monique Collins (Warwick, RI)

USTA League Male Captain of the Year: David Parekh (Farmington, CT)

Joseph Deitz Bowl (USPTA Award): Kevin Pease (Falmouth, MA)

PTR New England Professional of the Year: Marton Balla (Brookline, MA)

Official of the Year: Joan McShane (Madison, CT)

Wheelchair Tennis Player of the Year: Thomas Dodd (Attleboro, MA)

Special Tennis Event of the Year: Stowe Mountain Lodge Classic (Stowe, VT)

Junior Tournament of the Year: Junior Team Tennis Connecticut State Championships (New Haven, CT)

Adult Tournament of the Year: Wentworth by the Sea Red Robin Series (New Castle, NH)

*Gardner Ward Chase Memorial Award: Michael Mercier (Beverly, MA)


*The Gardner Ward Chase Memorial Award for outstanding contribution to New England tennis will be given out at the USTA New England Hall of Fame Ceremony in Newport, RI on June 9, 2018.


Click here for a list of award descriptions.  


Volunteer Service Awards:


30 years of volunteer service

Fred Roach


25 years

Donna Griffin

Diane Meyer


20 years

Melissa Salmon

Marissa Salvadore

Viola Schutter

Scott Steinberg

Amy Wishingrad


15 years

Dawn Dugan

Karen Fawthrop

Dawn Fleury

Paul Gastonguay

John Jasionowski

Susan Langer

Diane Phelps


10 years

Charles Dress

Barbara Healey

Joel Heil

Michael Shade

Laury Shea

Dag Williamson


5 years

Sue Ash

Tony Ash

Erin Auclair

Nestor Bernabe

Jen Beveridge

Dave Brown

Dave Colby

Cassandra Crowal

Analisa Eichstedt

Edsel Ford

Karen Fossett

Carolyn Fournier

Adam Hirshan

Tim Lacombe

Jill Levin

Brian Lomax

Ellen Malatesta

Susan McCanneny

Maria Melchionda

Jarnuee Nichols

Susan Olney

Ed Paige

Mo Raissi

Darrell Rider

Mike Slattery

Jennifer Witt


Tickets for the Awards Ceremony are $35. To buy tickets, email Patti Roy, USTA New England Volunteer Development Manager:




About USTA New England

USTA New England, one of 17 regional sections across the country that comprise the United States Tennis Association (USTA), is a not-for-profit organization committed to promoting and developing the growth of tennis and increasing participation in the sport in New England by offering quality recreational and competitive programs for people of all ages and abilities. For more information, visit


Related Articles