2021 Mixed 40 & Over Sectionals Results

June 07, 2021

Teams from Austin, Houston, NOHO and Lubbock all earned titles at the 2021 Tri-Level Sectionals from January 29-31 in Austin.


Mixed 6.0 Champions - Dallas


Dallas won the five-flight 6.0 division, going undefeated in all four of its matches. The team finished the weekend with an individual score of 11-1 and lost just two sets along the way.


"Brian Sipes X6.0" are captained by Brian Sipes. Their roster of players includes: Brian Sipes, Saurin Patel, Tracy Graivier, Sundee McDonald, Nancy Lacey, Robert Bell, Chung Pi, Libby Johnson, Thanh Ly, Sherri Rejebian, Sarah Sparling and Sammy Sriva.


Full Mixed 6.0 Results

Skip Advertisement


Mixed 7.0 Champions - Dallas

Dallas came away as champions in the 7.0 division, beating Wild Dallas 3-0 in the finals. Dallas finished 3-1 in flight play, tied with San Antonio and Houston, but advanced on tiebreaker.


Team "Rene Alzuro X7.0" are captained by Rene Alzuro. The team features 14 players: Kelly Thornton, Laura Rich, Lisset Leija, Kevin Cates, Rene Alzuro, Edward Leija, Prasad Govindarajan, Tex Torrez, James Kawahigashi, Rose Fletcher, Karen Saland, Anne Savoie, Marilee Gaughan and Jeffrey Yarbrough.


Full Mixed 7.0 Results


Mixed 8.0 Champions - San Antonio

San Antonio was able to come away with the Mixed 8.0 crown after finishing 3-0 in flight play. Then, the team beat Wild Austin 2-1 in the semis before downing Amarillo 2-1 in the finals.


"The CervAces" are captained by PJ Pfeiffer and play out of NEISD Blossom Tennis Center. Their team roster includes: Natalie Pfeiffer, George Kilford, Michael Woolard, PJ Pfeiffer, Enrique Marcos, Melissa Rubiola, Rebecca Alarid, Marlo Carr, Kellie Johnson, Estevan San Miguel, Shannon Beckel, Luis Moreno, Chris Mireles, Johnette Thomas and Patrick Johnson.


Full Mixed 8.0 Results


Mixed 9.0 Champions - Austin

Austin defended its home turf, winning the Mixed 9.0 title. Austin went 3-0 in flight play, winning 59% of their games.


"Straight to the Point 9.0" are captained by Marcus Reese and play out of Austin Tennis Center. Their roster boasts 17 players: Paul Gonzales, Grant Chambers, Cecil Ledesma, Erin Portman, Natasha Baker, Anthony Tatu, Sarah Atkinson, Kristen Guszak, Mike Takao, Heidi Shelton, Luis Fernandez, Steven Gilmer, Tiffany Muller, Kristen Remeza, David Hallinan and Leah Little.


Full Mixed 9.0 Results

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Texas
    NJTL Scholarship Named
    March 20, 2023
    USTA Texas is proud to announce its annual NJTL Scholarship will be named in memory of influential tennis teacher and coach, Cleveland Gilcrease. Five scholarships of up to $2,500 will be awarded to NJTL participants in Texas pursuing their higher education. The support and naming of this scholarship was made possible thanks to a generous contribution from Puente de Maravillas. Read More
  • 2023 USTA Texas Family of the Year, the Jim Longbotham Family
    2023 Family Award
    February 17, 2023
    The winner of the 2023 USTA Texas Family of the Year Award is the Jim Longbotham Family from Groesbeck, Texas. Read More
  • Texas
    2023 Sessions Award
    February 17, 2023
    The winner of the 2023 USTA Texas Lloyd Sessions Educational Merit Award is Michael MacVay from Austin, Texas. Read More