Janet Louer National Organizer of the Year Award


The USTA Annual Meeting and Conference



A person who does not work for a section or district office and who meets the following criteria:


  • Successfully implemented other USTA Tennis programs
  • Generated interest in USTA Junior Team Tennis programs through local promotions
  • Creatively and effectively utilized section and/or national funding
  • Sponsorship development – ability to find and utilize resources other than the USTA
  • Community Tennis Association participation and/or development
  • Number of participants in USTA Junior Team Tennis



Each section recognizes one individual as the Organizer of the Year and the 17 section award recipients become part of a pool for the Janet Louer National Organizer of the Year Award.



Follows the Fall Awards Timetable. See Awards homepage for standard timelines.



Matt Barnhart

National Manager, USTA Junior Team Tennis

(914) 697-2239



The award is named after Janet Louer, an individual who was instrumental in the development of junior tennis during her lifetime. As the administrator for USTA Junior Team Tennis in Georgia, she built the state championships into the largest youth team tennis state championships in the nation. Her expertise also was utilized in the development of the section and national championships for the program.



Louer was also known for her work in the realm of competitive junior tennis. The Janet Louer National Organizer of the Year Award is presented to an individual who delivers USTA Junior Team Tennis to their community and embodies the true meaning of having a positive impact on children.




2006      Carla O’Connor

2007      Rita Gladstone

2008      Laura Mitchell

2009      Lisa Bowen

2010      Julie Watson Dick

2011      Justin DePietropaolo

2012      None

2013      Heidi Stryker

2014      Leslie Jackson

2015      Jennifer Toomy

2016      Oliver Summers

2017       Deby Caldwell

2018       Mark Platt

See Local Awards