Please update your profile

Help us better understand the makeup of our tennis community

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

This is the membership endpoints html.

John T. McGovern Award


US Open (annually)



USTA-certified chair or line umpire with at least 10 years of service.No recipient is eligible for a second award.



Outstanding contribution to tennis officiating.



Nominations are made to the secretary of the John T. McGovern Umpires Award Committee, which is comprised of past award recipients. Vote is conducted by ballot at a meeting during the US Open.



July 15: Initial nomination deadline



USTA Officiating Department
10000 USTA Blvd, Orlando, FL 32827
Click here to email

McGovern Award 2019


In 1949 John T. (Terry) McGovern presented a beautiful gold-plated trophy for an annual award to that umpire or linesman who contributed most to the cause of tennis officiating during the previous year. In addition to the perpetual trophy, McGovern contributed gold-plated medalettes to be given annually for the permanent possession of the recipient, as well as silver-plated medalettes to be given on a similar basis to a junior official. McGovern was a well-known leader in amateur sports. He was for many years legal advisor to the United States Olympic Committee, a former president of the Cornell University Alumni Association, and president of the Sandlot Baseball Association. Almost from the inception of the USTA Umpire Association, he was a devoted tennis linesman. The Committee of Award consists of all previous recipients of the award.



1949       Donald M. Dickson

1950       Craufurd Kent

1951       Harold A. Lebair

1952       David S. Niles

1953       Louis W. Shaw

1954       Frank J. Tybeskey

1955       Hubert J. Quinn

1956       H. LeVan Richards

1957       Winslow (Mike) Blanchard

1958       Edward Mellor

1959       Harold E. Ammerman

1960       J. Clarence Davies, Jr.

1961       Herbert J. Lewis

1962       Frank Dowling

1963       John G. Kroel

1964       William Macassin

1965       Ernest J. Oberlaender, Jr.

1966       John B. Stahr

1967       S.R. Bumann

1968       John B. Coman

1969       Frank Hammond

1970       E. Brooks Keffer

1971       Titus Sparrow

1972       Col. Richmond Skinner

1973       Sydow Nieman

1974       Douglas B. Stewart

1975       Florence Blanchard

1976       Sam Cox

1977       Bill Ackerman

1978       Harry Maiden

1979       J. Roy Dance

1980       John H. Sternbach

1981       William S. Bigelow

1982      George Duganne

1983      Anita Shukow

1984      Col. Nicholas E. Powel

1985      Dr. Charles F. Beck

1986      Norris Bond

1987      Joseph Beerman

1988      Judy Popkin

1989      Jay Snyder

1990      Zeno Pfau

1991      Richard Kaufman

1992      Peter Kasavage

1993      Fran McDowell

1994      Joan Vormbaum

1995      Phyllis “Woodie” Sublett-Walker

1996      Al Penelton

1997      Steve Ullrich

1998      Bill Barber

1999      Bob Cranor

2000      John Bramlett

2001      Jim Zimmerman

2002      John Wong

2003      Joan "Bunny" Williams

2004      Jerry Moore

2005      Norman Chryst

2006      Shirley Damiano

2007      Missy Malool

2008      David Littlefield

2009      Lois Huggins

2010      Keith Crossland

2011      Ernie Mosby

2012      Jason "Jake" Garner

2013      Jane Goodman

2014      Billie Lipp

2015      Donovan Kent

2016      Jamey Davis

2017      Ali Nili

2018      Ken Austin

2019      Dessie Samuels

2020      Not awarded due to COVID-19

2021      Berverly 'Kris' Jaeger-Helton


See Local Awards