Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.

Nicholas E. Powel Award





USTA official certified no higher than the USTA level.



Works primarily at community-level events. Supportive attitude toward grass-roots program. Positive role model.



Nominations by each Sectional Chair of Officials to Nicholas E. Powel Award subcommittee of the USTA Officials Committee. The selection committee consists of the National Officials Committee Chairman, Vice-Chair, Executive Director Liaison to the Committee and last year’s winner of the Powel Award. 

Powel Award


June 15:  Nominations due.

The recipient is notified prior to the US Open.



USTA Officiating Department
10000 USTA Blvd, Orlando, FL 32827

Click here to email


The Nicholas E. Powel Award recognizes an outstanding Official’s body of work done primarily at the community level.  These Officials are the backbone of officiating in the USTA. 



1990       Lillian Donley

1991       Margery S. Marshall

1992       Margaret Colchin

1993       Eugene Heller

1994       Lucille Frank

1995       Claude Pickering

1996       Arcadio Garza

1997       Charles Mignon

1998       Nan Burnam

1999       Berry Campagna

2000       Mickey Harper

2001       Jim Cummings

2002       Allan J. Smith

2003       Sally Utiger

2004       Clarence Corbin

2005       Dennis Bennett

2006       Patricia A. Friz

2007       David DeGraft

2008       Charlotte Dlugolenski

2009       Catherine Thomas

2010       Lewis Conley

2011       Eileen Leonard

2012       Rollie Shea

2013       Donovan Willsie

2014       William Kelly

2015       Donna Bailey

2016       Sam Sambrano

2017       Jackie Jones

2018       Bonnie Hartshorn

2019       Ferne Nelkin

2020       Ed Osnowitz

2021       Doug Rice

See Local Awards

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for our Newsletter