8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt
 

Ruling on Body Shots

Q. Recently while playing a doubles match I poached and hit a ball that hit the ground then hit my opponents shin. The ball traveled from his shin and over the net without touching his racket. My opponent claimed the point was his, and it was some new USTA rule. Do you have any information on ‘body shots’?”

From Jim Lawson, Mid-Atlantic Section, USTA Referee

There is no new rule for 2006. See Friend At Court (FAC) R 24 (h) P.20 – Rules of Tennis: “Player loses point: The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or carrying, except the racket.”

From Rob L. of Menlo Park, CA

A ball has to hit a racquet to be a bona fide hit. A ricochet (or any other type of shot) off a body part does not count as a legal shot. Otherwise, it would bring a whole new meaning to playing with tennis balls.

From TW

Don’t be duped. As soon as the ball contacts anything on your opponent, except his/her racquet, it’s out of play. Period. End of point.

 
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

Player to Player doesn't work without your questions, so please send any questions you’d like answered, or responses to other players' questions, to Player@USTA.com. 

Knowledge Areas:

Improve Your Game Homepage

 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39