8370-YouthTennis_Graphics_findevent_200x190

2014 US Open Long Sleeve Shirt

2014 US Open Patriotic Shirt

2014 US Open Women's Shirt

2014 US Open Hat

2014 US Open Men's Pullover Jacket

Jumbo Tennis Ball

2014 US Open Tennis Balls

2014 US Open Shirt

2014 US Open Polo Shirt
 

Double Hits

Q. If, in a single swing, the ball hits the racquet twice (because the racquet twists during the swing or some such) does that count as a double hit the same as if you had swung twice? What if the ball first makes contact with the lower part of the racquet netting, slides across it, and leaves from the upper part of the racquet netting? Is that a double hit? Also, what if you almost miss and the ball is hit by the edge or handle of the racquet, rather than the netting of the racquet--is that allowed so long as the ball is successfully returned to the opponent?

A. A player is permitted only one swing at the ball. Any intentional second swing is not permitted. Sometimes, during the stroke the ball may hit the strings/racket two times. If the player did this in one motion and there is no attempt at an intentional second hit, then that is a legal shot. This rule was changed in the 1970s from no double hits, whether intentional or not, to the above procedure. The ball may hit any part of the racket to be a legal return. However, it is not a legal shot if the ball touches any part of the body including the hand holding the racket.

Q. In singles tennis if a player goes to hit the ball after it has bounced once on his side and the ball hits the frame of the raquet and bounces straight up, can he hit the ball a second time as long as it doesn't hit the ground twice on his side?

A. A player is permitted only one swing at the ball. Any intentional second swing is not permitted. Sometimes, during the stroke the ball may hit the strings/racket two times. If the player did this in one motion and there is no attempt at an intentional second hit, then that is a legal shot. This rule was changed in the 1970s from no double hits, whether intentional or not, to the above procedure.

Q. If your opponent obviously hits the ball twice with their racket for example first it hits their frame, then hits their strings, is that an infraction? I've had this happen to me many times and wondered if one is allowed to call that or whether to continue play. I've never actually stopped play because of an incident like this, but I was wondering if technically it would be your point if your opponent did this.

A: A player is permitted only one swing at the ball. Any intentional second swing is not permitted. Sometimes, during the stroke the ball may hit the strings/racket two times. If the player did this in one motion and there is no attempt at an intentional second hit, then that is a legal shot. This rule was changed in the 1970s from no double hits, whether intentional or not, to the above procedure. Without an umpire, the player must call this infraction on oneself.















 
Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share

In This Section:

Click here to send your burning questions about the rules of tennis along with your name and town.

Knowledge Areas: 

 
 
 
USTA Membership
Learn More or Login
Learn More or Login
Espanol
 
Newsletter Signup
 
 
 
 

Copyright 2014 by United States Tennis Association. All Rights Reserved.

Online Advertising | Site Map | About Us | Careers | Internships | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Umpire Policy | Privacy Policy

Connect with us! Facebook-38x39 Twitter-38x39 Youtube-38x39