Northern Region

USTA Eastern's

Northern Region 

September 22, 2022

USTA Eastern Northern Region organizes all USTA tennis programs throughout the Capital Region all the way up to St. Lawrence County.



  • Guilderland High School's Deb O'Brien was recently named the 2019-20 National Federation of State High School Associations Northeast Section Girls Tennis Coach of the Year. (The Northeast Section encompasses Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont.) O'Brien received the honor for her team's performance during the 2019-20 season, as well as lifetime community involvement, school involvement and philosophy of coaching.
  • WAMC recently spotlighted Tri-City Fitness's Tennis For the Troops program in Latham, N.Y. Through this initiative, the club offers free membership to all active duty personnel, National Guard, and military civilians, as well as to retired veterans and former National Guard members. ADVERTISEMENT The program started as a clinic with four participants but has grown to include over 150 military members, according to General Manager Billy Ciejka. For more information, click here or contact Billy Ciejka directly at
  • The Daily Gazette covered the creation of a new pro league in the region. The new league was inspired by a past popular league that drew players from all over to the area.
  • The Daily Gazette talked to two USTA Leagues players about their love for the game and the journeys they've taken in the sport.


2020 Northern Region Eastern Tennis Conference Award Winners


Members of the Northern Region captured three of USTA Eastern's annual awards in 2020, including the newly-created Courage Award. Learn more about the Northern recipients:



Upcoming Events


Information will be posted here as it becomes available.


The Northern Region Team  


Adult League Coordinator


Community Tennis Coordinator


Northern Region Council

  • Jed Murray, Regional Council Director
  • Kelsey Altavilla
  • Judy Carnavos
  • Philippe Ceas
  • Dylan Davis
  • George Koh
  • Geoff Leggieri
  • Meagan Mann
  • Domingo Montes
  • Jim Neal
  • Deb O'Brien
  • Sarah Sharpe
  • Mary-Margaret Sohns
  • Alex Van Cott
  • Sue Wold


Regional Junior Council

  • Jeanine Cao (Guilderland)
  • Nathan Cao (Guilderland)
  • Christine Lee (Niskayuna)
  • Abby Murray (Oneonta)
  • Rondacia McPherson (Schenectady)
  • Wesley Poe (Clifton Park)
  • Katrina Setchenkov (Guilderland)
  • Will Weldon (Cooperstown)


Join the USTA Eastern Northern Region Facebook group!


Related Articles