What's the Call? Fixing a serving error after a fault

September 30, 2020

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

In my singles match over the weekend, we realized we served out of order during the second set.  We were at 15-30 and I had just hit a first serve fault when my opponent pointed out that we were serving out of order.  We knew she had to take over serving, but were unsure about the serve into the net.  Does she take over at 15-30, second serve?


Answer:  This situation is not common but it is still important to know how to handle it when it occurs. If the serving order is altered between you and your opponent and the game is still in progress, you should switch the serving order immediately. However, the first serve fault does not stand. Your opponent would take over serving at 30-15, first serve.  (Rule 27)  




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Skip Advertisement


Related Articles