USTA Eastern

Adult Cup and Team Events


Each year USTA Eastern and USTA National provide opportunities for players to benchmark their ability level through a series of regional and national team competitions.  These events are some of the most historically prestigious and longest running team-based competitions in the nation. The USTA’s most illustrious team event, the Davis Cup, began as an Intersectional competition between top-level teams of east coast players and west coast players.


An invitation to play in a sectional team event is an honor extended by the section to its best adult players.  Participation in these events gives the player an opportunity to contribute to the legacy of each competition as well as build camaraderie throughout their sections and the country.   


The location of each cup rotates on an annual basis amongst the participating sections. ADVERTISEMENT The respective section not only hosts competition but also a welcome dinner and reception. Some competitions may be local with nominal expense to the player.  Other events may require travel and lodging. 


Certain Intersectional events will count toward a National ranking. 


Eligibility and Team Selection 

Players must be USTA Eastern members in good sectional standing, and frequently represent the highest ranked players in the particular age division of the competition. Current tournament results, recent team participation, and compatibility with team captain and other players are also considered. The rigorous selection process for team members enables qualified players the opportunity to engage in the highest level of team competition. 


Event Descriptions and Schedule 


Church Cup

Division: Men’s Open

Dates: May/June


The Church Cup was established 1918 as men’s competition between the Eastern, Middle States, Mid-Atlantic and New England sections of the USTA. The Church Cup is traditionally held on grass and consists of 3 singles and 3 doubles matches in each round. The Church Cup is a Men’s Open competition.


Sears Cup

Division: Women’s Open

Dates: June


The Sears Cup was established 1927 by two great women players, Hazel Wightman and Eleanor Sears; the Wightman Cup became a competition between the US and Great Britain with Mrs. Sears lending her name to the women’s competition between Eastern, Middle States, Mid-Atlantic and New England. 


Addie Cup

Division: W 40, 50, 60, 70

Dates: May/June


The Addie Cup was established 1981 and named after former Wimbledon champion and one of the greatest players to emerge from our section, Pauline Betz Addie; this is a women’s 40’s, 50’s, 60’s senior event between Eastern, Middle States, Mid-Atlantic and New England. The 40’s and 50’s play 4 singles and 2 doubles. The 60’s play 2 singles and 1 doubles match per round.


Talbert Cup

Division: M 35

Dates: May/June/July


Established 1986, The Talbert Cup is a Men’s 35 competition named after former Davis Cup champion and two time runner-up at the US Open, Bill Talbert. It is played between Eastern, Middle States, Mid-Atlantic and New England. The Format is for the Talbert Cup consists of 6 singles and 3 doubles matches.


Atlantic Coast Cup

Division: M 45, 55, 65 

Dates: July/August


The Atlantic Coast Cup (ACC) consists of separate 45s, 55s, and 65s competitions between Eastern, Middle States, Mid-Atlantic and New England. The original 45’s event evolved into 4 separate cups. The format for the Atlantic Coast Cup consists of 4 singles and 3 doubles matches per round.



Division: W 35, 45, 55, 65

Dates: October/November


The Women’s Intersectionals event is a National Women’s Team Competition between all 17 USTA sections for 35s, 45s, 55s, and 65s. The format of the completion is 3 singles and 2 doubles matches per round. 


*Dates are approximate and subject to change.


Related Articles