Pro Tennis Events



Davis Cup is the largest annual international team competition in the world, and the U.S. is the most successful nation in its storied history.

Originally established in 1900 as a contest between America and Great Britain, the event now regularly includes more than 120 nations each year.

The Davis Cup has been held every year since 1900, with the exception of 1901, 1910, 1915-18, 1940-45 and 2020. In total, 15 countries have been crowned Davis Cup champions since the U.S. won the inaugural event. No nation has won more titles than the U.S., which has lifted the trophy 32 times.


The U.S. last won the Davis Cup in 2007 when the team of Andy Roddick, James Blake, Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan lifted the trophy.


In 2019, a new-look Davis Cup Finals format was introduced, with 18 teams competing in a "World Cup of Tennis" at La Caja Magica in Madrid. ADVERTISEMENT As of 2022, only 16 teams will qualify for the finals.


Related Articles