Caribbean / U.S. Virgin Islands

Three Championships for O'Neill

at the Junior Open #2

April 15, 2019

Juniors of all categories, continued the race for the # 1 spot in the local rankings, in the second Junior Open of the year that takes place from April 5 to 14, 2019 at the Centro de tenis Honda in Bayamón.


The event, which lasted two consecutive weekends, had more than 100 players from categories 12, 14, 16 and 18 years in the singles and doubles categories.


Gabo Cestero keeps dominating the 18 & under category getting a three-peat by winning the Junior Open 1 and 2 and the Rafa Jordán Junior Sectional.


We have to recognize Daniela O'Neill, who was crowned champion in three events of this tournament: (Singles 18 - defeating Adriana Hiraldo in a fought 3 sets match; Doubles 16 with Yadalis Rodriguez and Doubles 18 with Adriana Barney.)


Among other junior players who continue to dominate their respective categories are Bela Martinez in 12 and under, who won his second consecutive title in singles. ADVERTISEMENT Andrea Pérez, a solid player who always stays at the top of the rankings, achieved her third consecutive championship against Claudia Pérez in the 14 and under category. Alex Aguiar, meanwhile continues to dominate the 16 and under category by beating Eduardo Piovanetti in two sets to take his second title of the year.


The Junior Team Tennis 18U will be the next stop of the Junior circuit and will take place from April 26 to 28 at the Palmas Athletic Club in Humacao.


Here are the champions and finalists of the Junior Open # 2






Bela Martínez d. Valeria Almeda 6-4; 6-1

Ricardo López d. Lester Marín 6-4; 7-5




Andrea Pérez Díaz d. Claudia Pérez 6-1; 6-3

Antonio Del Toro d. Alec Martinez 6-3; 3-6; 1-0(2)




Fabiana Tort  d. Amanda Díaz 7-6(3); 7-5

Alex Aguiar d. Eduardo Piovanetti 6-2; 6-3




Daniella O'Neill d. Adriana Hiraldo-Ortiz 3-6; 6-2; 1-0(7)

Gabriel Cestero d. (3) André Zequeira 7-6(3)); 6-0






Mila Martinez/ Bela Martinez d. Valeria Almeda/Siena Schintler  8-4

Ian Arenas/Ricardo López d. Diego Woollis/Lester Marin 9-8(5)




Andrea Pérez Díaz/Claudia Perez-Garcia d. Ana  Lopez/ Patricia Vazquez 8-5

Antonio Del Toro/ Christopher Polish d. Alec  Martínez/Rafael Muñoz 8-6




Daniela O’neill/ Yadalis Rodríguez d.  Amanda Díaz/Fabiana Tort 9-8(5)

Jorge Quintana/Damian Rivera d. Alex Aguiar y Eduardo Piovanetti 8-4




Adriana Barney/Daniella O'Neill d. Adrian  Hiraldo/Amanda Suarez 8-4

Jean Marrero/André Zequeira d. Gabriel  Cestero/Héctor Díaz 8-3 


Related Articles