USTA Eastern's

2017 Annual Award Winners 

USTA Eastern  |  December 11, 2017

In keeping with our much-anticipated Eastern Tennis Conference tradition, USTA Eastern will honor many special friends for the extraordinary contributions they have made in their communities through tennis, at our Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday evening, January 27, in White Plains, N.Y. We are so proud and grateful for the work they do, as it truly exemplifies what makes the Eastern section so unique, successful and innovative. 


We are also looking forward to Saturday afternoon’s Junior Awards Luncheon where we will celebrate a number of junior players who epitomize sportsmanship, showing great humility during times of adversity or triumph on the court. 


Click here to register to attend the entire January 26-28 Eastern Tennis Conference weekend, or to attend Saturday’s celebrations.


Here are our 2017 USTA Eastern Award Recipients:



Junior Sportsmanship Awards

  • Boys’ 10 Sportsmanship Award: Ian Yakovlev (Jersey City, N.J.)

  • Girls’ 10 Sportsmanship Award: Isabelle DeLuccia (Livingston, N.J.)

  • Richard D. Lynch, II Boys’ 12 Sportsmanship Award: Connor DuVally (Pound Ridge, N.Y.)

  • Richard D. Lynch, II Girls’ 12 Sportsmanship Award: Erin Ha (Tenafly, N.J.)

  • E. Hawley Van Wyck, Jr. Boys’ 14 Sportsmanship Award: Kris Sethi (Livingston, N.J.)

  • Edith Martin Girls’ 14 Sportsmanship Award: Anne Moody (Bedford, N.Y.)

  • Lawrence A. Miller Boys’ 16 Sportsmanship Award: Kieran Foster (White Plains, N.Y.)

  • Lawrence A. Miller Girls’ 16 Sportsmanship Award: Perene Wang (New York, N.Y.)

  • Lt. Frederick M. Scribner, Jr. Boys’ 18 Sportsmanship Award: Finbar Talcott (Sea Cliff, N.Y.)

  • Edith Martin Girls’ 18 Sportsmanship Award: Cynthia Huang (Montville, N.J.)

  • Henry Benisch Scholarship Award: Daniel Pellerito (Syosset, N.Y.)

  • Ron Smyth Parent Sportsmanship Award: Shelly Ann Panton (Mount Vernon, N.Y.)

  • Tournament Director of the Year Award: Clark Crawford (Binghamton, N.Y.) and Arthur Falkson (Ithaca, N.Y.) 


Adult Awards


  • Tennis Woman of the Year: Laurie Bowen (Endwell, N.Y.)

  • Leslie J. FitzGibbon Tennis Man of the Year: Jeffrey Williams (New York, N.Y.)

  • Tennis Family of the Year: (Chip) Fishback Family (Geneva, N.Y.)

  • Member Organization of the Year: Kings County Tennis League (Brooklyn, N.Y.)

  • George Seewagen Award: Keith Kambourian (Farmingdale, N.Y.)

  • Umpire Service Award: Michael Maye (South Fallsburg, N.Y.)

  • Virginia and Chuck Landis High School Coach of the Year: Chris Horgan (Medina, N.Y.)

  • Fran Osei Community Service Award: Daniel Burgess (Freeport, N.Y.)

  • Corporate Service Award: Super Seal Coating (Penfield, N.Y.)

  • Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Award: Rebecca Jackson (Syracuse, N.Y.)

  • Clinician of the Year: Michelle Skelly (Hamburg, N.Y.)

  • Collegiate Award: Binghamton University (Binghamton, N.Y.)

  • Service to/People with Disabilities Award: John DeBaun (Brockport, N.Y.)

  • USTA League Award: Judy Carnavos (Schenectady, N.Y.)

  • Junior Team Tennis Award: Geoff Jagdfeld (Somers, N.Y.)

  • 10 and Under Tennis Award: Heather Corriel (Oceanside, N.Y.)

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Nancy McShea (Rockville Centre, N.Y.)

  • Long Island Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Herb Harris (Oyster Bay, N.Y.)

  • Metro Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Jonathan Raude (Rego Park, N.Y.)

  • New Jersey Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Bob Byrnum (West Orange, N.J.)

  • Northern Region Volunteer of the Year Award: George Koh (Guilderland, N.Y.)

  • Southern Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Selina DeCicco (Ellenville, N.Y.)

  • Western Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Dave Hanzes (Binghamton, N.Y.) and Steve McGary (Elmira, N.Y.)


Related Articles