USTA Eastern's 2018 Annual Award Winners 

December 03, 2018

As is an Eastern Tennis Conference tradition, USTA Eastern will honor some remarkable members of our section for the extraordinary contributions they have made in their communities through tennis at our Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 26, in White Plains, N.Y. We are extremely proud of their accomplishments and grateful for the work they do. They truly exemplify what makes the Eastern section so unique, successful and innovative. 


We are also looking forward to the Junior Awards Luncheon, which will also be held on January 26. There, we will celebrate a number of junior players who epitomize sportsmanship and who show great humility during times of adversity or triumph on the court. Click here to place a congratulatory message for a junior or adult award winner in our Eastern Tennis Conference booklet.


Here are our 2018 USTA Eastern Award Recipients:


Junior Sportsmanship Awards

  • Boys’ 10 Sportsmanship Award: Gunter Weldon (Cooperstown, N.Y.)
  • Girls’ 10 Sportsmanship Award: Sofia Perez (Mount Sinai, N.Y.)
  • Richard D. Lynch, II Boys’ 12 Sportsmanship Award: Aarush Kumar (East Brunswick, N.J.)
  • Richard D. Lynch, II Girls’ 12 Sportsmanship Award: Maeve Cassidy (Monroe, N.Y.)
  • E. Hawley Van Wyck, Jr. Boys’ 14 Sportsmanship Award: Joshua Mandelbaum (Livingston, N.J.)
  • Edith Martin Girls’ 14 Sportsmanship Award: Diana Kozenyatko (Liverpool, N.Y.)
  • Lawrence A. Miller Boys’ 16 Sportsmanship Award: Alexander McDonald (Summit, N.J.)
  • Lawrence A. Miller Girls’ 16 Sportsmanship Award: Valencia Xu (Livingston, N.J.)
  • Lt. Frederick M. Scribner, Jr. Boys’ 18 Sportsmanship Award: Pieter Wernink (Glen Cove, N.Y.)
  • Edith Martin Girls’ 18 Sportsmanship Award: Ashley Hess (Cedar Grove, N.J.)
  • Henry Benisch Scholarship Award: Lina Mohamed (Mineola, N.Y.)
  • Ron Smyth Parent Sportsmanship Award: Chip & Dawn Fishback (Geneva, N.Y.)
  • Tournament Director of the Year Award: Ari Roberts (Chester, N.Y.)


Adult Awards


  • Tennis Woman of the Year: Sunny Fishkind (Bethpage, N.Y.)
  • Leslie J. FitzGibbon Tennis Man of the Year: Mark McIntyre (New York, N.Y.)
  • Tennis Family of the Year: (Dylan) Davis Family (Selkirk, N.Y.)
  • Member Organization of the Year: Garden State Tennis Center (Edison, N.J.)
  • George Seewagen Award: Adrian Chirici (Huntington, N.Y.)
  • Umpire Service Award: Toni Baller (Pultney, N.Y.)
  • Virginia and Chuck Landis High School Coach of the Year: Marion Foley (Binghamton, N.Y.)
  • Fran Osei Community Service Award: George Besch (Lancaster, N.Y.)
  • Corporate Service Award: Carefree Racquet Club (North Merrick, N.Y.)
  • Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Award: Charlie McKenna (Springfield, N.J.) and Jennifer Kagan (East Syracuse, N.Y.)
  • Clinician of the Year: Jason Speirs (Rochester, N.Y.)
  • Collegiate Award: Army West Point Tennis (West Point, N.Y.)
  • Service to/People with Disabilities Award: Joanna Nieh (New York, N.Y.)
  • USTA League Award: Wendy Goffin (Schenectady, N.Y.)
  • Junior Team Tennis Award: Joani Akpan (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
  • 10 and Under Tennis Award: Jason Wass (Massapequa, N.Y.)
  • Press Service Award: Brian Coleman (Wantagh, N.Y.)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Lyman (Rochester, N.Y.)
  • Louise Cilla Award: May Hines (Freeville, N.Y.)
  • Long Island Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Terri Arnold-McKenzie (Baldwin, N.Y.)
  • Metro Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Deborah Rose-Andrews (Kew Gardens Hills, N.Y.)
  • New Jersey Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Kathy Lo (Woodbridge, N.J.)
  • Northern Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Peter Mesh
  • Southern Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Michelle Arbogast (Warwick, N.Y.)
  • Western Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Rebecca Stollman (Binghamton, N.Y.)



Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Visit the 2023 Lifetime Achievement page
    2023 Lifetime Achievement
    February 07, 2024
    Longtime junior coach Lawrence Kleger is the recipient of USTA Eastern’s 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award. Read More
  • Visit the 2023 Woman of the Year page
    2023 Woman of the Year
    January 29, 2024
    Business owner Debbie Miller has been named USTA Eastern’s 2023 Tennis Woman of the Year for a lifetime of service to the western N.Y. tennis community. Read More
  • Visit the 2023 Man of the Year page
    2023 Man of the Year
    January 29, 2024
    David Hanzes, of Binghamton, N.Y., has been named USTA Eastern’s 2023 Leslie J. Fitz Gibbon Tennis Man of the Year for his efforts over many years to strengthen the officiating infrastructure across the section. Read More