2021 USTA Eastern Annual Award Winners

December 10, 2021

With its annual awards, USTA Eastern honors those who have made remarkable contributions toward growing and promoting tennis at the grassroots level. These individuals and organizations demonstrate what makes the Eastern Section so unique and innovative. Please join us in congratulating our 2021 recipients for all their hard work in enriching our sport—especially during such an unmistakably challenging time.


Click here for a downloadable list of all awards and their official descriptions.

Click here to look back at all of our award winners in each category since 1998.


2021 USTA Eastern Award Recipients


Lifetime Achievement Award: Lorraine Rohlsen (Metro Region)


Leslie J. Fitz Gibbon Tennis Man of the Year: Harry Keely (New Jersey Region)


Tennis Woman of the Year: Darcy Cobb (Metro Region)


Member Organization of the Year: Lincoln Terrace Tennis Association (Metro Region)


Tennis Family of the Year: The Pursoo Family (Long Island Region)


Courage Award: Jason Pasion (Long Island Region), Alan Pawlinski (Western Region)


George Seewagen Award: Bob Bynum (New Jersey Region)


Fran Osei Community Service Award: Aida Derogatis (Southern Region)


Louise Cilla Award: Linda Gohagan (Western Region)


Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Award: Ron Thomas (New Jersey Region)


Clinician of the Year Award: Steven Mingo (Metro Region)


Umpire Service Award: Theresa Cary (Northern Region)


10 & Under Award: Midtown Athletic Club (Western Region)


Junior Team Tennis Award: Michelle Wilson (Western Region)


USTA League Award: Alexandrine Crane (Western Region)


Virginia and Chuck Landis High School Coach of the Year Award: Shai Fisher (Long Island Region)


Corporate Service Award: Sportsplex (Southern Region)


Service to People With Disabilities Award: STRIDE Adaptive Sports (Northern Region)


Special Service Award: Conkey Cruisers (Western Region)


USPTA Eastern Tennis Professional of the Year: Millie Didio (Southern Region)


Long Island Region Volunteer of the Year: Clark D. Ruiz II (Long Island Region)


Metro Region Volunteer of the Year: Susan Cassidy (Metro Region)


New Jersey Region Volunteer of the Year: Ronnie Hsieh Li  (New Jersey Region)


Northern Region Volunteer of the Year: Dylan Davis (Northern Region)


Southern Region Volunteer of the Year: Rokhsha Michael-Razi (Southern Region)


Western Region Volunteer of the Year: Elizabeth Briceno (Western Region)



Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Tyler Conover and Sebastian Wernecke captured the championship title at USTA Eastern's 2023 Adaptive Sectional Championships. The team, along with finalists Lena Franklin and Alexander Dobrin, will now represent the section at the national event in Orlando, Florida. Read More
  • NYC's Cooper Williams reached the quarterfinals in boys' singles and doubles at the 2023 US Open. Read More
  • A student learns about college playing opportunities at USTA Eastern's College Showcase Day.
    College Showcase Day
    September 19, 2023
    USTA Eastern's annual College Showcase Day gives high school juniors and seniors an opportunity to meet college tennis coaches, collect information, listen to experts and learn about the NCAA process. Read More