2022 USTA Florida ‘Bobby Curtis’ Junior State Tennis Finals Preview

Jaret Kappelman | June 08, 2022

The USTA Florida “Bobby Curtis” Championships is regarded as the biggest Junior Tennis tournament of the year, and it’s set to begin at the USTA National Campus in Lake Nona, Fla. on June 11 and run through June 15, 2022.


Three individuals are looking to capture their second Bobby Curtis title in a row, but all of them are moving up to the next division.


Boys’s 12s defending champion, Jordan Lee will be playing in the 14s division this year where the 2020 12s winner, Daniel Patsula will also compete.

Skip Advertisement


On the girls’ side Anastasiia Rychkova, who won the 12s last year will be competing in the 14s draw. While the defending 14s winner, Lauren Kettlewell, will look to take home the 16s title.


The competition is fierce this year as many FHSAA state winners and runner-ups round out the playing field. In the boys’ 18s, 1A champ Chase Healey will enter as the fourth seed, while the girls’ side will feature FHSAA winners Lily Dounchis, Juhnyee See, and Natalie Block. Block also won the Bobby Curtis 18s in 2020.


Other notable names include the highest ranked girl and former Bobby Curtis Green Ball victor, Sophia Osipova in the 12s, Bobby Curtis runner-up Tanner Povey in boys’ 18s, former champs Zaire Clarke and Alex Ackman in the 16s, and top ranked sisters Sophia and Savannah Webster in the 18s.


For more information of the schedule, draws, and full list of athletes competing at the Junior Championship, visit PlayTennis.

Last Year’s Division Winners and Finalists

Girls’ 18s: (2) Charlotte Owensby (Boca Raton) d. (1) Ahmani Guichard (Seminole) 6-4, 6-2


Boys’ 18s: (1) Jonathan Irwanto (Miami Shores) d. (2) Kian Vakili (Longwood) 6-4, 7-6 (7-2)


Girls’ 16s: (4) Yanire Marte (Royal Palm Beach) d. (9) Ella Pogue (Tampa) 6-4, 6-3 


Boys’ 16s: (1) Roy Horovitz (Key Biscayne) d. (2) Tanner Povey (Indian Rocks Beach) 2-6, 6-3, 6-2


Girls’ 14s: (2) Lauren Kettlewell (Doral) d. (5) Gabirella Rawles (Bradenton) 6-4, 6-4


Boys’ 14s: (1) Darwin Blanch (Deerfield Beach) d. (2) Yubel Ubri (Hollywood) 6-1, 6-2


Girls’ 12s: (1) Anastasiia Rychkova (Boca Raton) d. (2) Abigail Gordon (Boca Raton) 6-4, 3-6, 6-3 


Boys’ 12s: (2) Jordan Lee (Orlando) d. (1) Teodor Davidov (Bradenton) 6-1, 6-1


Former “Bobby Curtis” champs who have gone on to rank No. 1 in the world on the ATP and WTA rankings are Chris Evert (1971 18s, 1970-69 16s, 1968 14s, and 1966 10s champion), Jennifer Capriati (1986 12s champion), Jim Courier (1986 18s champion) and Andy Roddick (1996 14s, 1994 12s champion).

Other notable winners over the years have been current WTA players Danielle Collins (2011 & 2009 18s, 2006 12s), Amanda Anisimova (2014 14s, 2011 10s), and Sofia Kenin (2010 12s); three-time Grand Slam runner-up and two-time Olympic gold medalist Mary Joe Fernandez (1983 14s, 1982 12s); former world No. 8-ranked Carling Bassett (1980 12s); former world No. 7 and current U.S. Fed Cup Captain Kathy Rinaldi (1980 14s, 1979 12s); former world No. 7 Jay Berger (1985-84 18s, 1983 16s); former world No. 3 and two-time Slam doubles winner Brian Gottfried (1970 18s, 1966 14s, 1963-64 12s); former world No. 5 and two-time French Open semifinalist Eddie Dibbs (1969 18s, 1967 16s, 1965 14s); and former ATP player and legendary tennis organizer Charlie Pasarell (1958 15s, 1957 13s).


The tournament was renamed the USTA Florida “Bobby Curtis” Junior State Championships in 2012 to honor legendary Florida junior tennis organizer Bobby Curtis. You can visit bobbycurtis.funraise.org to donate to the memorial fund created in his name.  

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • USTA Florida's Women in Tennis initiative is changing lives in the tennis world through research, empowerment, and commitment. Read More
  • Tennis Team Smiling
    Mixed Sectional Recap
    September 12, 2023
    The competition was super close at the Adult 18 & Over Mixed 6.0/7.0/8.0/9.0 Sectional Championships with Broward, Alachua, and Hillsborough. Read More
  • Coco Gauff With US Open Trophy
    Coco Gauff Wins US Open
    September 11, 2023
    Cocoa Gauff becomes youngest American since Serena Williams in 1999 to win the US Open and more on Florida tennis shining at the Grand Slam. Read More