Missouri Valley / Heart Of America

Award Winners


October 11, 2018
Tennis award

USTA Heart of America has announced its 2018 Award Winners. They will be honored at the USTA Heart of America annual meeting on Tuesday, November 13.


The 2018 USTA Heart of America Annual Hall of Fame & Awards Banquet will be held on Tuesday, November 13, at Hallbrook Country Club.  Social hour begins at 6:00 p.m., Dinner at 6:45 p.m., and presentation of Hall of Fame inductees and award winners begin at 7:30 p.m.  In addition, the election of the new 2019-2020 USTA Heart of America Board of Directors will be held.


Click here to register for the banquet.


Junior Player of the Year-Female: Kate Kim

Junior Player of the Year-Male: Cooper Woestendick

Recreational Player of the Year-Junior: Bryn Chaplin

Family of the Year: Biria family

Adult Player of the Year-Female: Michelle Hall

Adult Player of the Year-Male: Wilbur Jones

Recreational Player of the Year-Adult Female: Nancy Spielbusch

Recreational Player of the Year-Adult Male: Dough Schwabauer

Shawna Froeschl Adult Sportsmanship - Male: Russ Everhart

Shawna Froeschl Adult Sportsmanship - Female: Cynthia Gerdes

Stephanie Waterman Junior Sportsmanship - Male: Nathan Turtledove

Stephanie Waterman Junior Sportsmanship - Female: Hannah Tadros

Event of the year: Greater KC Junior Tennis Bonanza

Outstanding Junior Tournament: USTA Level 1 Boys 18s National Indoor Championship

Outstanding Adult/Senior Touranment: USTA Missouri Valley NTRP 50s Singles & Doubles National Qualifier

Facility of the Year: Genesis Health Clubs

Member Organization of the Year: Overland Park Racquet Club

Outstanding Community Tennis Organization: Stephanie Waterman Foundation

Community Service Excellence: Plaza Tennis Center

High School Coach of the Year: Tracey Johnson

Media Excellence: Karen Kornacki (KMBC-TV)

Outstanding Contributor to USTA Tennis Youth Programs: Kevin Braun

Outstanding Contributor to Youth High Performance Program: Eric Rand

Outstanding Junior Team Tennis Organizer: Steve Baum

Outstanding Contributor to USTA League Tennis: Marcia Jacelone

Outstanding Diversity Achievement: Rick Haith

Volunteer of the Year: Noah Bortnick

Distinguished Service: Richard Kohn



Outstanding Sportsmanship:

Girls 12s: Atra Biria

Girls 14s: Emily Chiasson

Girls 16s: Sophia Desimone

Girls 18s: Hannah Tadros

Boys 12s: Krrish Sanjanwala

Boys 14s: Graham Faris

Boys 16s: Rudra Dixit


Related Articles