Missouri Valley / Kansas

Kansas Announces

Award Winners

October 15, 2018
Tennis award

USTA Kansas  has announced its 2018 award winners. 


USTA Kansas will hold its 2018 Annual Meeting, elections and award presentations on Sunday, November 4, 2018 at Crestview Country Club, 1000 N. 127 th Street East, Wichita, Kansas 67206.


Luncheon and Awards Presentation will begin at Noon. Board Meeting and Elections will be held in the upper level board room at 11 AM. Please contact Diana Christman at dchristman10s@att.net or phone 785-640-3536 or 785-357-8480 for reservation information.


Adult Player of the Year: Linda Johnson, Salina

Adult Recreational Player of the Year: Shirlene Shepard, Salina

Junior Player of the Year – Female: Reagan Boleski, Wichita

Junior Player of the Year – Male: Mason Thieu, Topeka

Junior Recreational Player of the Year: Female – Sofia Spies, McPherson

Junior Recreational Player of the Year: Male – Isaak Bowman, Derby

Tennis Family of the Year: Contee Family, Topeka

Organization Member of the Year: Ralph Wulz Riverside Tennis Center, City of Wichita, Sara Rasmussen, Director of Tennis

Outstanding Contributor to Youth Tennis Programs: Sara Rasmussen, Wichita

Outstanding Contributor to Youth High Performance Program: Danny Williams, Topeka

USTA Junior Team Tennis Organizer: Janet Glaser, Wichita

Outstanding Contributor to USTA League Tennis: Jim Bauersfeld, Topeka

Outstanding Adult/Senior Tournament: 2018 Kansas Sunflower State Games Tennis Event, Mitch Gross, SSG Executive Director

Outstanding Junior Tournament: KS BG 12-18 Riverside Open District Championship #1, Sara Rasmussen, Wichita

High School Coach of the Year: Brian Shaw (posthumously), Winfield High School

Outstanding Official: Laura Norman, Wichita

Outstanding Diversity Achievement: Wichita Community Tennis Diversity Programming, Lisa Sutherland

Media Excellence: Shane Konicki, KWCH-TV, Wichita

Event of the Year: Wichita Tennis Open, Lisa Sutherland, Wichita

USTA Missouri Hall of Fame Inductee: Ken Brown, Independence



Junior Sportsmanship Awards                                                

Boys 10s: Isaac Ramirez, Arkansas City

Boys 12s: Davian Spies, McPherson

Boys 14s: Harris Kossover, Wichita

Boys 16s: Colby Klotz, Arkansas City

Boys 18s: Charlie Foss, Wichita

Girls 10s: Mia Jaramillo, Wichita

Girls 14s: Grace Schaefer, Andover

Girls 16s: Clara Whitaker, Wichita & Aspen- Julia Ames, Hayesville

Girls 18s: Jacey Arnett, Arkansas City



Related Articles